EXCLUSIVE Interview with Wednesday 13

in #music5 years ago

Header-Wednesday13.jpg

About the new album Necrophaze (out on September 27th via Nuclear Blast Records) and on how he got so many special guests including Alice Cooper and Cristina Scabbia...

Wednesday 13: "The special guests were just kind of something that came along in the process. it wasn't anything we had figured out beforehand, it was just kinda ideas we came up with during the recording process. Most of these people that are on the record with the exception of Cristina (Scabbia) are all people I know or have a relationship with. Fortunately Alice Cooper has been a big supporter of Wednesday 13 and Murderdolls since we toured with him in Belgium in 2002-2003 so he's known the band for awhile, he's taken the band out and he has become a friend and when it came time for this record and doing an intro and doing "the ultimate horror record" I mean there's nobody better. So he's sort of my Vincent Price in the way he had Vincent Price do his "Welcome To My Nightmare" record.To have him a part of it was just surreal, when I hear it, it gives me goosebumps. "

Thought's on the new line-up of Static-X featuring a masked singer replacing deceased front-man Wayne Static?

Wednesday 13: "Well you know, just like anyone when I first heard the news, if you were a fan and you followed Static-X and followed Wayne's solo career and everything and you knew how to the band kind of ended and everything. But to sit back and see this show and production, this tribute they've put together, it's a really cool show. The first time I saw it, it was weird for me just for the fact that I knew Wayne, not that it was weird in a bad way, it was just weird like "wow" I never thought I could see something like this. They put a great show together for a tribute. I just did 6 weeks with them in The States, I saw the show where Wayne's family came out to the show, they were cool with everything, the band, I saw them all talking and hugging out my window and I could just see that there was a lot of love there and they approved of it. Just from what I've seen, if they're cool with it and they can do this then that's fine and it's really none of our business after that if they can work it out. So to me seeing that made it even better to me. I know it's pure and I know Wayne's family backs it so it's a cool thing... It's sad when I say it's weird I mean it's sad that Wayne's not here to see how many people love what he did."

On why Wednesday 13 decided to cover "Animal (F*ck Like a Beast)" by W.A.S.P?

Wednesday 13: "I've been a W.A.S.P. since I can remember. We were talking about doing some cover songs. I think our drummer just went and did a demo of it and it sounded cool and it got on the list of songs to do. And we ended up tracking it, and it turned out super cool.

I was so happy to do a W.A.S.P. song and that song in particular, Is it my favorite W.A.S.P. song? No. But it was the one W.A.S.P. song — the No. 1 [song on a] list of 30 songs. And that album cover — it was just such a slap in the face of the P.M.R.C. [activist group Parents Music Resource Center] and all that back in the '80s; it caused a lot of trouble. And I thought, 'What better band to cover that and keep spreading the trouble but us?' No one's ever covered that that I've known of, so we did it. And it's a song so bad, Blackie [Lawless, W.A.S.P. leader] won't even play it to this day. So it must be bad. It's a dirty job. Somebody's gotta do it. I took the job."

Listen to the full interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=Zc0Aif82PUw

WEDNESDAY 13 - "Decompose" (OFFICIAL VISUALIZER)

www.sticksforstones.net - @sticksforstones

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Awesome interview and sounds. Well done!
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67