The Long Play

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Today I've been tagged by @riverflows to write about something I feel bad about and need to forgive myself for. You can read her super heartfelt funky post about self-acceptance here. My post in comparison is not quite as large as hers in a way, I suppose. It's about how I don't make time to listen to music the way I used to now devices and health issues crowd my funny little homebound life. I do feel bad about how little music I listen to these days, and so that's what this meditation is about.

In my teenage years in the 80's we had big, cumbersome storage devices. The floppy discs I worked on as a typesetter were huge, almost as big as the LPs we played on our turntables. LPs were good; the cover art was big, lyrics were often supplied, so you could sing or read along as you sat, getting to know an album. I loved those times when, say, you'd listened to it three or four times and you knew you were committed, as if you'd entered into a new relationship. By then you'd be starting to distinguish each song from the others, each one shaping itself before you like self-moulding clay. That feeling when you knew you were falling in love with certain songs.

I've been thinking about those teenage record-playing days lately because I've been nominated to do one of those "name 10 albums that touched your life" things on Facebook. It's made me realise how little music I listen to intentionally these days. I feel nostalgic for the days when sitting with my cousin and spending an hour indulging an entire album was a regular occurrence.

Sometimes it was hard to put the stylus on the record without scratching it, it was so small - especially if we just had to listen to a particular album after we'd been out drinking the two cans of UDL vodka and orange that got us drunk for the night. I'm feeling nostalgia for those times not just because they're my youth but because that experience of music as the main act, with undivided attention, was woven into my life, regularly reachable.


It's not so much that I don't have the time to listen to music now. Unlike many people of my vintage, I have time in abundance. It's not that I don't have time to sit down and become intimately acquainted with an album. It's that I don't always have the energy (listening to music takes energy and you know you're sick, and it's a lonely silence, when you are too unwell to listen to it). Or if I have the energy, I don't have the willpower to put my devices aside. I need to put them down and sit, and become reacquainted with just sitting and listening. Why is it so hard when it is soooo fucking pleasurable? Listening to music as a meditative practice. It's become like an atrophied muscle.

Sometimes I wish we did not have these devices we can't put down. Actually, no. Sometimes I wish it was much easier to put down these devices more often and for longer. Yes, that's it.

Here is the sum total of my album collection. I had more albums than this picture shows. When I was living in Braybrook in the granny flat, I had them stored out in the garage. Stupid, stupid, There were my Mum's old original Beatles albums, Please Please Me and Hard Day's Night. There were others that were probably pretty good as well but I will never know because they have disappeared. I don't want to accuse anyone. It's just that the guy who moved into the house at the front of our shared property was an arsehole. He was a selfish prick who owed me 300 bucks for bills when I moved out, and just simply refused to answer the phone or my texts whenever I tried to contact him. So my bias would like to say it was Dylan who nicked some of my records, may the pox be on his house, not that I'm dwelling or nothing.

I also can't find a large stack of singles I had. Some of them were truly ghastly. Others were daggy one-offs that I'm happy to lay claim to, like 5705 (but there's no reply!) And who can go past the wonderful Ah! Leah! by the punctuation-loving Donnie Iris? Never heard of it? This three minutes of uncool pure pop/rock awesomeness from 1980 has been a love of mine for 30 years.

I have a plastic bag of cassettes in the cupboard that I've been too scared to listen to. They don't contain music. Well, actually, they do. Lots of hard rock stuff like Whitesnake, interspersed with talking from my penpal. We first started writing to each other when he put an advert in a music mag for penpals and I had responded. He had suggested we start sending audio to each other instead of writing. It felt weird speaking into a tape deck from my rental house in Noble Park. His tapes would come back to me from the Arizona State Prison. He used to pause the tape a lot, like when those iron doors were opening and closing. He used to whisper quietly into his tape deck's microphone. He drew a picture of me once from a photo I'd sent him. He used to say, "Mercy, girl," in his Arizonian accent and it was all so intimate somehow that I began feeling claustrophobic. It just started feeling ... I don't know, like suddenly it was a commitment to be writing to this guy. One day I just never wrote back.

I feel guilty about that. I'm planning on listening to those cassettes one day. Just when I can get past the squishy, embarrassed feeling I get thinking about doing so. I don't really know why. I wish I would hurry up and get past it though because the real reason I want to listen is all about me - those tapes are going to be like a time capsule from 28 years ago. I really only want to listen to them to hear what James from Arizona feeds back to me about what Sue from Noble Park was doing and thinking at that particular point in time. Because my memory about then, like pretty much most of my life, is a blank.

I've been thinking, too, thatI want to listen to them because it could possibly be a good idea for an essay, or for a post here on Steemit. I find that I can get myself to do all sorts of things if I decide I'm going to write about it.

Which is why I'm considering writing music reviews of my old albums. There is some awfully crappy stuff in there, like 80s Australian bands Geisha and Uncanny X-Men, and I was thinking of contrasting self deprecating reviews of my very female teenage albums with my partner's album collection, which is much more teenage boy and with way more stuff that's stood the test of time than mine. Stuff I didn't wanna know about in 1987, like Sonic Youth.

It would at the least be a way to get myself sitting down again, back in that music-as-meditation type space. A way to try to retrain myself, to get over the struggle to do something that is so pleasurable.

Sort:  

Oh, I was Sonic Youth for sure!! Goo was an amazing albums. And Dirty Boots one of my fave all time songs.

Here's me with a walkman for Christmas - hmmm - 85 maybe?

Those tapes have to be listened to. There must be an extraordinary story in there. It does sound so claustrophobic and terrifying, to be honest, in a gothic kind of way!! And very creepy.

You'll be surprised at what happens when you start making a time to listen to music. One of my favourite things to do on a Saturday morning is put on some vinyl. Just one or two, just to get me singing. If I catch myself not listening to music I definitely rectify it. There's so much beauty in it!

What a great post. I'm sorry to hear of your illness - I hope it's something you can overcome? I know Dad's been listening to lot of music in hospital - he's always been a big music fan and has to be super sick NOT to listen. He finds it a distraction, and gets lost in it. The other day, I popped over to visit, squeamish about his bald head from the chemo, but we made him put on a beanie and we sat there and listened to Taj Mahal.

Thanks for writing - I love everything you write and I love your take on the 'forgivemyself' topic and I've found out a bit more about you!

I'm going to come back and upvote you when my VP creeps up again as I'm been a bit vote mad. xxx

Thank you! When you come back and upvote, ploise show me of the pic of you with your Walkman from 1985 :)

Saturday morning is a good time to factor in listening to music. I might start up Music Monday where I factor it in. I'm so out of the loop. But the health condition I've had for 18 years (myalgic encephalomyelitis) means that unfortunately there's plenty of times when music becomes not a pleasurable experience but a stressor. How shitty is that? :( But, yes, when it's not sensory overload time then I am in fierce agreement with your Dad. Music is healing on multiple levels! Best of well-wishes to your da.

Thanks! 459_1526015828426.jpeg

ME sounds tough. And frustrating.

Sorry to hear! I never quite know what to say but... love !

You don't need to say anything but thank you for your commiserations.

I love this photo of you! :)

And I just listened to some music before after reading your comment so thanks for the motivation.

Aw, that's awesome!!! Ha ha I look abit happy, it was a big deal getting that for Chrissy and Dad made me and my sister do a little dance so we could pose with our new presents.

@mountainjewel - here is a response to #selfforgiveness plus you get to see a dorky picture of me with a walkman. Like... a cassette tape walkman.

yessss love this photo! full of life, young blood!! xxx great post @sue-stevenson!! :)

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Your article got selected by the IINC team and is featured in the “Curator’s Choice” series. Congrats!

Oh wow! Thank you so much!

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99