A Sneak Peek Review of White Dwarf

in #music6 years ago

Written By Casandra back on February 22, 2016

You may or may not know that Tajlyn is in the middle of recording her next album, ‘White Dwarf’. I have been fortunate enough to be a part of the very small group of people who Tajlyn has let listen to the somewhat complete recordings of this up and coming album. I have also been to the studio to watch the magic of making this album take place (okay, now I’m just bragging). While I won’t be able to share any of these tracks with you at this time, I am able, and would like to write about the experience I have had listening to these songs.

If you have attended any of Tajlyn’s show this past year, there is a good possibility that you have heard some of the songs from White Dwarf. We released the song “Bitter” in our latest promo video. If you haven’t watched that one, you can watch it right here, right now. 🙂

All righty then, let’s get to this review…. My overall feeling of this album, and I am comparing it to Taj’s first album New Element, it “shows” her evolution, even the evolution of her producer, Ben. More dynamics, better quality all around. Don’t get me wrong, I do love listening to New Element, it’s an awesome album. However, White Dwarf is on a whole ‘nother level. It has a rockin’ sound with a raw and grundge-like vibe to it. I hope you hear what I am talking about since you just watched the above video and got to listen to “Bitter”. Such a great song. Love how she has incorporated the keys (keyboard) in this one.

Once again with this album, Tajlyn is at it, composing all of the lyrics and music. Performing each instrument in the studio. With the assistance of Ben’s creative ideas, they have utilized crunchy leaves, the slamming of a door, the scratching of a wall, the ding of a Klean Kanteen and then some to add unique sounds to this album. Watching Ben’s engineering and production skills in making this album is like watching a musical chemist brew batches of creative genius with the sounds and mixes. I greatly enjoy the addition of the keys and other instruments in this album (violin, didgeridoo…). The small touch of just a few notes from our grandfather’s banjo also gives this album a nostalgic tone.

The song I heard the other night, “Sweetly”, Tajlyn finished writing this one the day before they finished recording it in studio (a week ago). This song, this is gonna be the one you will dance your ass off to. It has power in it, gives me the chills. I see this song being the one you will hear on the radio waves. “Sweetly” is inspired by our family dog that passed away last year. I immediately heard how it was inspired by our dog in the lyrics, but seconds later I felt the lyrics in my own way, not in reference to our dog. Those words hit me in a way that spoke to my personal life and made me feel so good, inspired and up-lifted. I was dancing, something I don’t normally do when I first listen to her stuff. Tajlyn belts out in this song and does some rapping. This song has all the elements in making a bad ass song. In my opinion, Tajlyn & Ben were spot on to making “Sweetly” an ultimate hit.

I urge you to become excited about White Dwarf. I know it isn’t the healthiest thing to do, get yourself amped up prior to experience, thus possibly setting yourself up for disappointment. However, if you are a fan of Tajlyn, I do believe you are going to really like this album.

Interested in pre-ordering White Dwarf? Please email Tajlyn at [email protected]

Thanks for reading! – Casandra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48