Why Youtube Red Is Worth Your Money

in #music6 years ago

Youtube.jpg

I've been watching Youtube pretty much every day since it came out in 2005. I remember I was living in Chiang Mai, Thailand when a friend showed it to me and I immediately unplugged my old school TV and gave it to the security guard knowing I would never watch TV again.

At first, I was annoyed that I had to pay money to make YouTube work the way that it used to back in the day, but I guess that's the nature of the beast of capitalism.

No Ads!


There is nothing more annoying in the world than trying to listen to a meditation video and then all of a sudden an advertisement with three times the volume level pops up. When you subscribe to YouTube Red it takes away all of the advertisements. In my opinion, no ads makes Youtube Red worth the money. Creators still get their revenue from their monetized videos too.

Background Play (Screen Off) = Longer Battery Life


I'm one of the types of people who can't sleep unless I hear some background noise. I like to put on the most boring speech and let it play while I sleep. (This also helps to have more lucid dreams.) If you're doing this with your iPad, iPhone, or Samsung device while unplugged, it will kill the battery quite fast, but if you subscribe to YouTube Red it will allow you to continue playing even when the screen is off. As you can see from my picture below, I still have almost 80% battery life even though it's been playing for 12 hours while I was sleeping last night.
Bat.jpg

Original Content


YouTube Red has released a couple of original series and they're watchable, but not Cobra Kai. Cobra Kai is probably the best show of 2018. Even if you've never seen the original Karate Kid movies you will love it. (If the only reason you would want YouTube Red is for its great original series then you can just get them from The Pirate Bay illegally for free.)
Cobra Kai.jpg

Music


YouTube has every song that Apple or Spotify has in their library and even more non English songs. The only reason I subscribed to Spotify was so my Google Home would play certain songs on demand, but Youtube Red does the same thing, so goodbye Spotify. When you subscribe to Youtube Red you also get access to Google Play Music.

YouTube Kids


When you subscribe to YouTube Red it applies to the YouTube Kids app as well so when your children are watching videos you don't have to worry about them being advertised to.

Not for Everyone


If you live in Australia, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, or the United States then YouTube is available for you. If you do not live in one of these countries and you want Youtube Red, you'll have to use a VPN.
Countries.jpg

Saving Offline


If you don't always have internet access, Youtube Red let's you download to your device for offline playback. I've used this on long road trips and flights with the screen off saving battery and making the trip less boring.

Sort:  

Congratulations @teachinthai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I'm honored to receive a decentralized thumbs up. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99