Monday Trance - Proto-Trance... Is It Really Trance?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

There are quite a few artists who's music isn't necessarily labeled as 'trance' per se, but which has all the ingredients of Trance music when you actually listen to it. Maybe a little slower and more chilled but non-the-less still music that trances you out. You could call some of this 'proto-trance', that"s what I have some of this stuff labelled as in my iTunes library. Essentially some of these tunes are from a time before trance really started to take off as a genre in and of itself.

On this blog I mostly stick to old school tuneage (records), mainly stuff from '87 to '99, so having said that below are a few tunes that aren't necessarily trance but definitely have a trance feel to them.

BBG Snappiness - (Sweet Instrumental) (1990)


Drum Club ‎– Follow The Sun (1993)


I did want to post the version from their Live In Iceland CD but couldn't find any uploads on youtube so we'll have to make do with this version.


Orbital - Halcyon + On + On (1993)


I'm sure everyone knows this one, but what the hell...


Lost Entity - Annihilate (L.E.S Mix) (1990)


The KLF - 3 A.M. Eternal (The Orb's Blue Danube Orbital) (1989)


Sort:  

Trance has changed a bit from when it first occured. Lots of techno and house songs has trance elements.

But today trance is a genre of it's own. The cheesier cousin of house and techno :-)

Familiar with most of these, but that Orbital one is new. I dig it.

The vocal sample is from a classic Euro Trance track :-o

Nice. I think my sarcasm of not being familiar with the song was too subtle. It's such a classic and I think one of the first tracks I was aware of. Thanks Mortal Kombat.

I read once in a Computer Music or Future Music Magazine interview that Orbital was waiting for an original vocal from Kirsty Hawkshaw for this track, but they got impatient and ended up just sampling this one instead. Seemed to work out well for them.

Yep. Sarcasm and irony is often lost on me when I read quick comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71