A Gorilla Drums to Phil Collins [Favourites of the Gillos]

in #music6 years ago

In the Air Tonight Has Nothing to do with Chocolate... 



As I recall this advertisement actually fooled me. I thought it might actually be a real gorilla. It probably took me until the beast stretched its neck that I thought: "Geeze, this can't be a real ape!"

Yep, sometimes I'm slow on the uptake. 

This advertisement is great, not only because it might trick a few people, but because Phil Collins In the Air Tonight is a fantastic song! It made great ambient music for this famous Miami Vice scene - and the great Lasagna Cat did a clever ode (or Odie, hah) to it right here, sung by Rick & Morty co-creator and voice actor  Justin Roiland.

Eminem also gives a shout out to Air of the Night in Stan ft. Dido. I guess the there actually is an urban legend about someone drowning while a bystander stands by, refusing to help.

From Phil Collins:
I don't know what this song is about. When I was writing this I was going through a divorce. And the only thing I can say about it is that it's obviously in anger. It's the angry side, or the bitter side of a separation. So what makes it even more comical is when I hear these stories which started many years ago, particularly in America, of someone come up to me and say, "Did you really see someone drowning?" I said, "No, wrong". And then every time I go back to America the story gets Chinese whispers, it gets more and more elaborate. It's so frustrating, 'cause this is one song out of all the songs probably that I've ever written that I really don't know what it's about, you know?

Source: BBC World Service - "The Singer and the Song" Phil Collins"

I love learning about the history of songs, I also love watching gorillas, or guys dressed as gorillas. play music!

  Join me, The Gillos, as I go through my list of YouTube favourites spanning 9 years of content curation. Enjoy!  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75