Music MemoriessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

Long time no music. Strange for me but I have actually been off music for a few weeks... preferring the alternative ...silence!!However, I am back in the swing and felt a music post coming on this morning when I was doing the 'dog' thing.

No No NO, get your mind out of the gutter .... I meant walking my dog ... {shakes head in disbelief}

I was thinking about bands and music that really made a big impression on me at the time in my life and certainly this first one up was a real eye opener..... It had me visiting the local library to read up on the Irish Republican Army and Sinn Fe'in ... of course the album was U2 - War and the track that brought it all home to me was Sunday Bloody Sunday


Sunday Bloody Sunday - U2

From that excellent publication Wikipedia...

War opens with the protest song "Sunday Bloody Sunday". The song describes the horror felt by an observer of The Troubles in Northern Ireland, specifically Bloody Sunday (1972). Already a departure from the themes of innocence and spirituality displayed on the group's first two albums, "Sunday Bloody Sunday" introduces the album with a startling, military-esque drum beat by Larry Mullen, Jr., a fuming solo by the Edge that segues into staccato bursts reminiscent of machine gun fire, and pointed lyrical couplets such as: "And today the millions cry / We eat and drink while tomorrow they die." The album as a whole is more direct than the ambient October. Bono said in 1983,
Full Article

A few years earlier another 'war' tune was an indelible part of my life .... it was the theme tune to a program that ran every Saturday afternoon for people to send in messages and requests for their family and loved ones fighting on the border against 'terrorists' or 'freedom fighters' (depending on which side of the border you were of course).


Ballad of the Green Berets - Staff Sergeant Barry Sadler

Not a time I can reflect on with good memories ..... but this tune had a real place in my life in those days.

Anywaze that is enough for now .... once I go down the music rabbit hole we could have the entire you tube collection commented on

Namaste!!

Sort:  

Holy sh... I haven't heard Sunday bloody sunday for so long! I can't even say were I heard it, maybe from my fathers CD collection long time ago.
Thanks for reminding me of this song :) and yei, music post! 😁

Hello both of you or one ....wotever .... powerful song and cranked up really loud is awesome... and congrats to your dad for raising his child well!!!

You good?

I'll share the hello with her! haha yes he did good work, especially when it comes to the musical aspects :)
Yes we're fine, apart from the fact it's Monday now... but holiday's coming soon.
How about you?

I all good thanks, off for a short holiday in Zagreb.... my first visit to Croatia. Not looking forward to 22 hours in an airplane tho. Go check out the next chapter of the novelette, and talk to your other half about continuing the story.

https://steemit.com/novelette1/@krabgat/creative-writing-a-collaborative-novelette-or-part-6

wow 22 hours.. anyway, have a nice trip and enjoy it!
We'll check it out, but no promises when to continue :)

No sweat ... when and if you ready {smile}

It's hard to believe now, but music used to mean a lot. Pity it all turned to shit!

I bought that War album when it first came out...

I'm no Christian but I've long seen what U2 were up to - this demented but accurate video was one of my inspirations for @sift666


Wow, and I just listen to the music. I reckon for U2 it was just business. In the 21st century they full of political messages. Thanks for the video I will watch it in full later ....

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

T...is appreciated.thank you kindly....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87