Some South African Music

in #music6 years ago

@kiwideb is doing a series on New Zealand music and I passed a comment which led us to a chat on Steemit.Chat. That little discussion directly led to this post where I showcase some of the different ethnic music created and performed by our local population. For those of you who are interested the latest NZ post can be accessed Here, Day 16 ...is a worthwhile listen

Some background at this stage may be relevant. Let's start with the fact that we have a diverse population here at the southern tip of Africa. How many other countries have ELEVEN OFFICIAL LANGUAGES? Our national athem is comprised of 5 of the most commonly spoken official languages.


Image Credit

Now I am not going to include music from every tribe, but just some samples of South African written and produced music.

One of the first big hits on local radio by a local band was the sound track of the popular show Ipi Tombi. The vocalist was Margaret Singana


The Warrior - Margaret Singana, released in 1978

One of South Africa's true legends was the late Dollar Brand (Abdullah Ibrahim) who sadly passed on last year. Here is a track recorded in 1976; Black Lightning from the album of the same name.


Black Lightning - Dollar Brand

I will change tack a bit here and include a commercial song or two. Falling Mirror recorded a local album in 1985 at Tully McCully's recording studio in 1985. I still have this album in absolute mint condition and am proud to say that the quality stands shoulder to shoulder with ANY import I have heard.


Johnny Calls the Chemist - Falling Mirror released 1985

What better way to lead onto the next tune than that song as this next artist is a chemist by profession with music as a passion. In 1982 he released an album titled simply 'John Ireland' and this was probably the biggest hit from the album


I like - John Ireland

Back to the cultural music ... some excellent acappello sounds from Ladysmith Black Mambaso who once produced a well know album with Paul Simon. The featured track was on the Paul Simon as a backing sound.


Homeless - Ladysmith Black Mambaza

Another band which reflects the African sound and who were very big in the 80's and 90's was Mango Groove, a distinguishing sound for this band was the pennywhistle.


Special Star - Mango Groove

If that did not get your feet tapping you have no soul

Damn, this opened up some music rabbit holes for me so I shall just have to o another post on the subject soon!!

Thanks for the support and @kiwideb, thanks for the inspiration for this post.

Sort:  

this is really amazing friend, i like to postang about your music friend

wow, very amazing music, i really like your post @themagus, thanks for beebagi, please help me.
I Will upvote and restem

this is a very amazing music dear, I am amazed with you, I hope you are always fun and successful yes, I will always support you for success, I hope you can help me dear.
I will upvote and restem

the information very nice about music friend successful continue

I really like your post and the music is very amazing and I really support your post please help me friend @themagus you best friend

I congratulate kepa who created the best song song hopefully can be entertained all the words and can enjoy his @ themagus

amazing music, I am amazed with you, hopefully your day is fun and successful yes, I will always support you.
I will upvote and restem.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thank you for the upvote. I have duly voted for the Curie witness in return.

How Cool for your confidence and support!

Luckily I got back & found this in time to upvote.

Could Ipi 'Ntombi have been on TV in NZ? The name was familiar and the song was familiar too. Impossible to sit still to that one. We do a lot of African music in choir, so I liked Ladysmith Black Mambaza too. Mango Groove, to me, was a very infectious and danceable combination of the African sound with something quite poppy.

Dollar Brand is good, but not really my gig. I liked Falling Mirror though.

"I like" was damn strange, but it grew on me, and was rather hypnotic. I preferred it without the visuals, just closing my eyes and letting the music wash over me. Will definitely listen to that one again.

Yes, please to more. I think I saw you've done another more recent music post, which I might have to check out tomorrow.

Hey welcome back... glad you travelled safely. When I moved into my own rented flat at the age of twenty I had a hifi, a mattress and a fridge.... no curtains nothing...first album I bought in that flat was the John Ireland (I Like) ... I can remember sitting on the floor with a six pack of beers listening to it for the first time. Good memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98