[Retro-Review] Perception, NF's album 2017. 🎤

in #music6 years ago

Cover.

The album cover of NF's third studio album, Perception, shows the Christian rapper locked in a cell. It is an image that effectively (and discordant) expresses the dual message of NF here: the desire to free itself from self-constructed mental and emotional prisons also contrasts the admission that freedom can sometimes be difficult to secure.

As has been true in the previous works of NF, perception is intertwined with brutal honesty, depth of emotion, graphic metaphors and introspection, all of which move in a ultimately redemptive direction.

Analysis:

"Intro III" shows the struggles between two sides of the rapper's personality: NF Old and New NF, as the latter strives to silence the first, which is obsessed with the pains of the past. New NF finally declares to its dark side, "You had me in prison all this time, but I'm the one with the keys. "

"10 feet down" also explores the conflict between the old and the new. We hear this redeeming stimulus: "I know that the feeling of feeling that all that is being treated will never change/... It's not about what you did, but what you did to yourself. "Self-awareness appears in " My life "where NF admits that unhealthy channeled its alienation sometimes in the past: " I feel that no one has really gotten me, eventually/I took that into relationships. "But he also recognizes that our choices now are what matters most, not hurtful decisions that might have been made previously: " Not about what you did, that's what you do. "

In "Remember this" NF says, "I know I could die at any time" So this is a tip you'd like to leave: "Perfect people don't exist, so don't pretend to be one... Anyone can take your life, but not what you believe/... Do not take opinions from people who do not listen to yours/The real you are who you are when there is no one watching. "Later on, he adds, " People change, even Satan used to be an angel/think twice before he bite the hand that made you. "Meanwhile, in "Destiny ". We hear NF talking about seeking God's guidance: " I talk to God like, what's next for me? "

"Outcast" describes NF's sense of being different from those in its chosen genre: "I don't want to fit in/... I have my own shoes, I will not try in yours.../Yes, I guess I do not fit into the cast of rap/because I respect women ". In "Green lights" NF discusses the power of authenticity and stay focused on its purpose: "All that I spit is real life/... I know where I'm going, I don't let anyone distract me. "

Honest discussions about depression and loneliness can be heard in "Dreams" where NF confesses, "All I know is that down the weekends/tell me to make friends, I feel at home/my confidence as low as the gas is ". He said, he also talks about leaving behind the past and embracing a better future: "He threw the deck and got my own cards. "We hear equally vulnerable confessions in "Know". As NF speaks that he wants to know what it feels like to be happy/... Waking up in the morning and feeling it's real when I'm laughing."

"Let you Down" Try not to live up to parents ' expectations, and include the apology, "I feel I've let you down. "

"You're Special" This is a long distance relationship that is becoming a serious thing: "She made me think maybe I'm going to have to put a ring on her. " The rest deals with issues related to relationships.

NF.

For my part this work takes a 9/10. I highly recommend this musician. You have no loss. :)

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.57% upvote!
I was summoned by @therapysession. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations @therapysession! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TherapySession from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97