dub vs. dnb

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Good Day, Steemians

A couple weeks in and continuing to enjoy the user-curated content shared on this collective. Much Love!

enhanced-buzz-3001-1376400214-11.jpg

I wanted to make a short entry about music, timing, and the differences in said genre's tempos.

Personally, I have induldged in extensive personal conversation about snare placement and its effect on tempo feel.

I often have separate snare tracks: one will be hitting twice a bar and another I can swap out for a half-time effect at one hit per bar.

Not much of a point here.. just explaining logic behind some very basic manipulation with which I have found some neat effects.

In my last post, "Cooking-Up Content" I embedded a track I made from sounds sampled from Netflix
Movie Trailer "1922" - https://steemit.com/music/@theruggle/cooking-up-content

This is a great example of the tempo feel change-up. The sounds and tempos do not change throughout the short track, I merely shifted snare placement in certain patterns.

Again, not much of a point here. I just find myself amused by the simplest of things.

4-simple-rules-when-eating-a-banana.jpg

Isn't it neat how the middle-ground in "dub" and "dnb" (the 'u' and 'n') is the distinguishing factor in their short-names; just as the relative middle-ground (snare placement) may very well be the distinguishing factor in the genres 'differences'?th33EPJT0J.jpg

I do realize tempos can vary to every degree even in a single genre. These days every genre seems to vary heavily within; branching into tens of sub-genres each. Regardless, I find some type of zeal to the idea that tempo is further malleable by means of snare placement.

Any who, thanks for reading, perhaps the concept will be a seed for further thought.

I recently got a larger desk space and re-organized my in-home studio. More surface area has allowed more hardware use in an instance. I am seeing this is as a revolutionary step in my production practices. (Chaotic and unorganized picture of my workspace to follow so you can say- "OMG that's improvement?!") hashtag- ghetto :)
20171021_182314.jpg

Thanks again for all the inspiration. I will embed a track I made last night in this mad little lab. I look forward to sharing more with you.
While searching the 'meme faces' I saw this image that I felt strangely depicted SteemIt in a way:

meme_faces_by_nyrow-d4xmo9u.png
Hope everyone has a great day. It should be down to freezing temperatures any day in my part of the states. This means a down-season is coming if you are in the Agriculture industry. I look forward to having plenty of time to work on content for you all.

Some of the people I have followed the past few days post on enlightening topics, and I appreciate that. There is not much better than an interactive community to share ideas and inspiration, while having the chance to make an extra dollar or two in tips.crying-rage-face-meme-i13.png

I have been voting everyday even when I do not post. I am slowly accruing SP that I will continue to share the best I can. As I feel some momentum change in an unseen dimension I will invest some coin into powering up. I find much of your content valuable, and want you to know that I am taking steps outside this platform to widen its exposure.

  • Mr. Ruggles
Sort:  

I had a blast reading your post. How simple things can be very interesting: dub vs dnd :) Looking forward to more of your posts, knowledge and tracks.

Awesome, so glad you found enjoyment in it! I am going to be making efforts to post here daily to share some thoughts and projects. Your excitement is my inspiration! Thanks for taking the time to read. I am liking your blog so far, some great new artists to explore. I will be following!
Cheers!

Looking forward :)

Ive been a bass DJ for long times and I guess this is the first time I'm asking but where does halftime fit , I was noticing it was fairly closer to dub today but the name haltime is in reference to dnb

If I understand your question correctly: I think that halftime, relative to this discussion of snare placement can be confusing as half is relative.. That is what is neat about the timing in general, really.. In attempts to answer your question, I believe most dnb would be hitting two snare per bar- if you have time correct/markers set to 1/16 per bar then snares would hit on spaces '5' and '13' whereas in relative "half-time" you would only have a snare in the position of "9"

I hope that answers your question.. whereas in dubstep, often the snares are doubled to add an upbeat or buildup- in dnb the snares can be halved to provide a breakdown or slow down effect.. of course you could just shift the tempo as well- but then all the sounds change.. whereas this is just playing with the time across the sounds as they are.. creating an illusion of halved or doubled timing..

Anyway, hope I could help and that the thought is as entertaining to you as it is to me. I could re-word this all day.

I would love to hear a set from you. Bass makes me happy inside. I will be checking into your blog. :)

Interesting topic there.. I am fan of both dnb and dub :)
SuperTrip is awesome!!! Really like it.. Also some of your other tracks are very good, you got nice taste in music, I see some hip hop influence there if Im not wrong.. Gonna follow you on SoundCloud and here too!
Btw. do you know about "dsound" ? It is from steemit but for audio. Please check it because I think you can make it there!
https://dsound.audio/#/feed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68342.52
ETH 3806.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63