Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 14

in #music6 years ago (edited)



src

One of the things I love the most about country music is how it reminds me of bright sunny days and warm weather. Well that's what I think of when I think about the country side.
Some people might experience more rain than shine, but growing up in the north eastern corner of the state of South Australia we used to get some really warm weather.

When I chuck on some good country music it really brightens up my day.
We are in the middle of winter here is southern Australia so the gloomy days can get me down, and it's nice to chuck on a bit of country music and let my mind drift away.

Although I do like a wide range of country music, dark country is by far my favorite.
I had never heard of dark country until a few years back when I stumbled across it somehow, and it quickly became one of my go to genres which I look for on youtube.
For me the dark lyrics mixed with that country sound really drew me in and I was hooked.

Dark Country is perhaps not the most well known genre of music, you can tell that by the number of views most of the videos I share have. So hopefully I can unite some of you with a new genre of music that I love.
As with all my music series I share, I get some really great feedback.

Here is some awesome feedback I got from @mgood

I love Alison Krauss. She is tops - very talented. She has some very good songs from the movie "Oh Brother, Where Are Thou."
I highly recommend the movie. It was a lot of fun and great music.

Here is some great feedback I received from @jennifer78

I love this post. You hit on a touchy subject that is personal with me! I am sorry for your chronic pain as I know first hand what it is like. I hope that you find relief in some way and music is a good outlet.
I have noticed from your previous Country Music Series posts that you included a few tracks from the series Sons of Anarchy. That show had an amazing soundtrack with a few original songs and amazing covers!
I am not sure if you are familiar with folk, but this one is one of my favorites and it has a gothic feel to it. I heard it many years ago, then again on the O Brother, Where Art Thou Soundtrack, but this one, was heard on the show Supernatural. "Oh Death" by Rising Appalachia

Here is some feedback from @wildflowerjessi

Ahhh I see someone recommended Rising Appalachia.
They are one of my favorite bands!! Just missed them when they were in Adelaide recently!

So let's look at a few more tracks which I really love.

steemit-hr.png

☠️ The Dead South - In Hell I'll Be in Good Company

 
Haha here is another track where I was sold as soon as I read the name of it.
The track is by The Dead South which is a group from Canada who do bluegrass music, but this track definitely come into the dark country category.

I think the track sounds really good, although it's really quite simple when you break it down.
I like the way they have done the whistling throughout the track, gives it a real unique touch.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Robin Loxley - Rain Down

 
I really like this track by Robin Loxley.
I really couldn't find much information about him.

I love the use of the harmonica, really gives the track a real western feel to it.
How good is this part of the track though:

Lead me by the hand
Walk me to the light
Please make this quick
Coz time aint on my side

 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Hamilton Leithauser & Rostam - In a Black Out

 
I really love this track.
Both of these guys Hamilton Leithauser & Rostam Batmanglij are multi instrumentalists so it will be really good to see this duo progress.
I love the simple repetitive guitar tune to the track, sound really good.

This song reminds me of what it's like living in the city as a country kid, surrounded by people everyday who pass you by without a smile.
Makes me really feel like I'm in a lonely town.
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added all the tracks from this series into a playlist for ya'll ;)
View the playlist here
 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 13
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 12
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 11
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 10
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 9
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 8
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 7
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 6
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 5
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 4
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 3
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 2
☣️ Country Music Series - Villans Country Favorites Part 1
 

Sort:  

I love country musics with passion. The likes of Don Williams, Brad Persley, Kenny Rogers etc, these guys are so gifted.
Great write up.

Good stuff bud. I have flashbacks of listening to Type O-Negative with my goth girlfriends back in high school when I hear Robin Loxley and that's a lot of fun ;) I can see any of this music going well with a back yard bonfire for sure.

I have never actually listened to Type O-Negative so I know what I will be listening to tonight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95