The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures

in #music6 years ago

Well it's Saturday which means I will be firing up the Saturday night jukebox again and enjoying a wide range of the classics.
Growing up it was easy to get hooked on the classics, my parents and extended family would always have some kind of older music playing when we would catch up.
When I would go to my uncle Ronny's house you could bet there would be blues or country music playing.
If I was visiting my uncle Mark's place there would usually be The Doors, ELO or something along those lines playing.
Visiting my uncle Phil's place there would be something like Fleetwood Mac playing.
The list goes on from my rather large family.

I was fortunate while I was growing up that I could experience different tastes in music.
Because of this I have a very large taste of music, spanning decades and a huge range of genres. So I think I was blessed to have an upbringing like this.
It means I can appreciate just about any genre, with the exception of a few though lol like kids music XD.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.

☠️ The Mixtures ☠️

 
I don't really enjoy some of the mixtures music, but there are a few tracks I really do like.
The Mixtures are an Australian band from Melbourne Victoria.

From Wikipedia
Australian musicians Terry Dean and Rod De Clerk met in Tasmania in 1965. They then met Laurie Arthur, a member of The Strangers, and the three decided to form a band together after a jam session.

The group want through many different lineup changes over the years.
When ever I hear the mixtures I always think of the Paul Hogan show.



src

steemit-hr.png

☠️ The Pushbike Song ☠️

 
This is my favorite song by the mixtures, absolutely love it.
This is the song which was used for the Paul Hogan show as one of my favorite skits of his, which I have given you in the Youtube video.

I love the way the track sounds, it has a really catchy and unique rhythm to it.
I love the lyrics too.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ In The Summertime ☠️

 
This track was a remake of the original summer time track by Mungo Jerry, and I think it is the best version.
I really love that boppy feel good rhythm the track has to it.
I also really love the lyrics to the track.

This track really reminds me of what the summer time is like here in South Australia, because we have cold winters the summer time is always that time of year when people are much happier.
Also for me the summer time takes away my aches and pains of my injuries.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ The Wanderer ☠️

 
The Mixtures also did a remake of the popular song The Wanderer by Dion. While I prefer the version by Dion I do like this version by The Mixtures.

The track has much more of an up beat feel to it.
I love the track also because I'm a bit of a wanderer myself in some ways.
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

They never made it in the states so I never heard them....or heard of them. Their cover of In The Summertime is quite good. The video is quite hokey.

It's fitting that you highlighted this group right after The Monkees who also did a lot of hokey, slapstick stuff.

I'm surprised you never heard of them, the push bike song was really popular.
I love the quirkyness of the Mixtures and The Monkees :)

The Pushbike song is catchy. They put a lot of effort into the video and it was fun to watch. And the girl riding the bike was awesome.

The push bike song video was from the Paul Hogan show, you will probably know Paul Hogan from crocodile dundee. But he was a really good comedian too.

The crocodile Dundee movies were a lot of fun. He delivered the comedic lines very well so it made for a funny, macho character.

WARNING! The comment below by @sanjugangber leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

@thevillan hehehe.. so funny music..

You got a 8.87% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @thevillan!

You got a 5.16% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @thevillan! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 7.34% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @thevillan!

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

http://cutt.us/joinus

Join Our Community now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10