The Classics Never Die - The Monkees

in #music6 years ago

It's amazing how great the classics can make you feel. I have been fairly stressed lately with a big programming job I'm doing at work.
I leave work feeling rather drained and not very enthused, but as soon as I hop into my car and start cranking the classics on the radio I feel fantastic. It really lifts my mood and puts a smile on my face.

Another thing I noticed with the classics is the drive into work on a Monday morning, not that I'm in a bad mood when I leave for work but obviously I would rather be in bed.
Yet as soon as I hop in the car and chuck on the classics my mood lifts dramatically and I'm actually really looking forward to the day.
It's amazing the power of the classics, no other music can do that for me.

So it's time to bring you all another one of my favorite groups.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.

☠️ The Monkees ☠️

 
The Monkees have long been one of my favorite bands, and are regulars on the Saturday Night Jukebox.
The Monkees are an American rock band who did active recordings during the late 1960's and very early 70's.

The group consisted of the four members, Micky Dolenz, Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork and Davy Jones (lol and no not the Davy Jones from the bottom of the sea).

From Wikipedia
They were formed in Los Angeles in 1965 by Bob Rafelson and Bert Schneider for the American television series The Monkees which aired from 1966 to 1968



src

steemit-hr.png

☠️ I'm a Believer ☠️

 
This would probably have to be the most well known song by The Monkees.
When I first heard The Monkees as a young kid this was the first song I listened to, and naturally fell in love with it.

The song has been composed really well and has a real feel good harmony about it.
The lyrics are really great too, and this song always makes me think about my first crush. I remember though the thing that really drew me to this song was the uncertainty concerning love that I think every young person goes through.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Daydream Believer ☠️

 
Here is another really well known song by The Monkees.
This is another song which I instantly fell in love with when I first heard it as a young kid.

I really love the way the song start, it's really simple and sounds so good. The song has a really great harmony to it, and has been composed really well.
The lyrics are fantastic too, really catchy.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Last Train To Clarksville ☠️

 
Here is another real classic by The Monkees.
I love tracks like this because it creates a vivid imagination of what it must be like catching that last train to Clarksville.
Songs like this remind me of in the cartoons where the character has a few belongings tied up in a hankerchief tied to the end of a stick, with the stick hanging over one shoulder.

The song has a really great harmony that The Monkees were really good at.
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

The Monkees were one of my favorite groups. The 3 songs you picked are fabulous. Real classic Classics.

I watched their TV show every week which was a bit zany. And they always played one of their songs which I loved. This is the opening video/music from their show - which was also a catchy tune. The Mixtures music video "In the Summertime" copied a lot of the Monkees antics.

Haha yeah this show looks like it might be similar to the Paul Hogan Show, which I really enjoyed.
This song is really good, sometimes they play it on the juke box :)

Wow I havent checked steemit for quite sometime and the first thing that pops on my feed is the Monkees! Love them! Used to love coming home from school and watching the tv series - memories 😀.
I agree - you cant beat classics!

Yeah have wondered where you got to, would be great to catch up with your and Trent again at a future meetup :)
The Monkees are an absolute gem, I should check out that TV series sometime

I know life got in the way. We will try to make a bit more of an effort.
I hate travelling down the freeway in winter but will see how we go when the next meetup comes around.

It's always been awesome to watch monkees...... My childhood was awesome...

Hi @thevillain! This is the first time that I have heard the "Monkees" and it's beautiful! Thanks for sharing these classics. I especially liked "I'm a Believer".

Although, I haven't listened to many English classics but I love listening to Hindi classics. They can be so very refreshing and sometimes bring back some old beautiful memories for me!

I'm glad that you enjoyed them :)
one of the classic groups from the late 60's

One Word, Outstanding! I really like your article.

I liked the second one last train to Clarksville especially 🤩🤩.... Always old is gold

Yeah it's hard to pick my favorite out of those three tracks :)

The Monkees are great. If you want to stay inside the animal kingdom you could do The Turtles next :-)

Great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99