A tour through my collection #1

in #music6 years ago

A few years ago I finally sold my bachelor pad, I give it this name as it is where I lived alone for some years not because it looked like a pub, in fact it was a very nice modern looking apartment I putt quit some work in. Back in the day I invested quite some money into my cd and DVD collection, I think about 300+ cd’s and the same amount of DVD’s and this collection is out of storage now we have moved to our new home.

I will start a series of articles here where I will randomly pick a cd or DVD and write a little story about it. So here is number one.

I picked a golden oldie for the first post: Royal Jelly by King Bee
King bee.jpg

Artist info:
A Dutch hip-hop/dance group from back in the 90’s who scored three hits in the Netherlands and were known for their danceable hip-hop.
The group was formed by Dj Allstar Fresh, Rapper MC Pryme and producer B.C. Boy.
In 1990 they were the opening act for Madonna in the Netherlands, due to the success of the number Back By Dope Demand.

Album info:
Single cd released in 1990 on the Torso label.
Containing 12 numbers:

  1. Back by Dope Demand [Funky Bass Mix] (4:29)
  2. Feel the Flow (5:24)
  3. Tonight Is the Night [Backbeat Mix] (met Michèle)(5:22)
  4. Rockin' Down the House (4:44)
  5. Havin' a Good Time (4:28)
  6. Must Bee the Music (met Michèle) (5:10)
  7. Gettin' Down (met Ragoo) (4:36)
  8. zZignal of Hope (met Ragoo) (3:07)
  9. Cold Slammin' [Hauted Mix] (met Ultramagnetic MC's en Rudeboy) (5:39)
  10. Gettin' Reckless (met Middletown Posse) (7:02)
  11. Party People in the House [Pump the Mix] * (4:11)
  12. Must Bee the Music (Disco Frisco) (met Michèle)* (4:55)
    *bonus track

My story with this album:
After hearing the number Back by Dope Demand on the radio I was sold by the up tempo beat and nice beat drops in the number from this “local” group, only local because they are also Dutch.
I first bought the single, yes the real deal single on vinyl witch I lost unfortunately, and later the full album on cd. I can see on the cd that I played it over and over again, and wasn’t always careful with it, seeing all the scratches on it. Still plays nice tough, yes I have it in the car now as its not on Spotify and still loving it.

Reminiscing about the good old days, playing the cd on the Discman connected to some crappy portable speaker and trying to nail the dancing like in the music video with some friends, and showing our moves in the weekend on the dance floor. I was not one of the good dancers, but I hung with some dudes who could nail it for real, so I was that guy trying to convince the DJ to play the song (one more time).

Listening to it now days, you really can tell they are not native English speaking guys on a production that didn’t had a very large budget.

Here the other hit off the album “Must Bee the Music”.

Hope you like this little post and idea of the series. If so follow me @tijntje

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99