Korean Underground Hip-Hop and its impact on my life.

in #music6 years ago

Hello World,

it is me again talking about music and sharing my experiences with you while explaining how music accompanys me in my everyday life. Music is not only a simple thing, it is so much more: It is passion, love, memories and my favourite hobby. Music is always playing when I am around or hanging out with my buddies. Life is all about music and it is so much better with it. Daily things in your life get more value when you are listening to music, even if those simple things like taking a shower, cooking, cleaning/tyding up, gaming or driving a car. I am automatically in a good mood while doing those things when music is playing.
The best point is: music is free and will always be free, even though they are commercializing and commodifying everything at this time with playing ads everywhere they can to earn money. Advertisement is a huge branche/niche on the internet today, especially with the rising of kryptocoins and affiliate marketing.
As I mentioned in my previous post, I started listening to Korean Hip-Hop in 2012. Epik High was one of the groups in Korea who had no influence on the music industry at this time because Pop was so hyped in this country that most people only knew about the popular boybands from Korea. They had no clue that there was something more special and individual. People couldn't understand what they were trying to tell them with this kind of music because maybe they never ever even listened to Hip-Hop before. Pop was so huge and Hip-Hop was more than underrated at this time because it was complete new for the people there. You can see those kinda prejudices everywhere in life.
Epik High was one of the first groups trying to bring Hip-Hop closer to their country, to the korean people and within to the korean language. Both of their first two albums dropped pretty hard because the people weren't ready for such kind of music. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epik_High_discography
They had no success at all but after they dropped their third album there was no back anymore. People begun to talk about their music and think about their lyrics because there was a reason why the goverment had censored some of their songs later on. "Breakdown" by Epik High is a big example for their special kind of art and surely it was censored on television and radio in Korea. Here is he link, enjoy it:


"Swan Songs" which was released on October in 2005 had popular tracks on it like "Fly" which is one of the songs on the playlist in "FIFA 07": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swan_Songs_(Epik_High_album)
People like me (passionate Gamer from my Heart since the beginning of my childhood) are connecting many memories with those kind of playlists from the childhood.
Or "Follow the Flow" feat. Myk, another korean rapper who I was promoting in my last post already refering to their together produced album "Map The Soul"

Map the soul was one of the most interesting and inspiring pieces of Hip-Hop I have ever listend to because it was so refreshing. All their songs were completely selfmade with no label in their back, just their own independant founded label "Map the Soul". They just did their own thing, comepletely independant and free. The album includes funky oldschool beats revived back to life produced by DJ Tukutz: some of the songs are in korean, some are mixed with some english and some are in pure fluently english. The beats and lyrics are staying in your head forever like some youtube comments confirm.
The sub culture Hip-Hop reached new audience and started to pop off in Korea together with breakdance battles and rap shows like "Show me the Money".

Still beeing underground there are plenty talented artist living in Korea who are starting to boom, even in the US.
Most people who are loving Hip-Hop can feel this language and its music. Almost all my friends are enjoying listening to new korean tracks I am showing them. For me it is something special about this language and that it is fact. Those Koreans are doing pretty good at the moment combining dope beats with an unique language, mixing it and bringing the best of both cultures toegther while spitting in two different languages with an insane flow. It is incredible and awesome at the same time. That is why I am trying to bring this special kind of Hip-Hop closer to people because I am so convinced of this art of music. As I already said I am following Korean Underground Hip-Hop for some years now and have built myself an impression and an opinion so I can say it fore sure.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Big Thanks again to you! @illuminati-inc and @curie

Congratulations @tits4ever! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95