One - Casting call

in #music6 years ago (edited)

sunrise-1756274_1920.png
Image source

In the 1990’s a guy named Kevin Godley spearheaded a project called one world one voice in which 250 Musicians all over the world collaborated on one piece of music either expanding on it, or playing on existing pieces, or both. This whole collaboration was documented on the short film you see below.

From the original liner notes:

The Music on this album was first played to over a billion people around the world in May 1990 - The climax of the 'One World' series on television. It is the ultimate global mix, the brainchild of Kevin Godley. Filmed and recorded on the road, it is a "chain tape", each of the musicians adding a new theme to the mix as Kevin's team toured the world.

This body of work greatly inspired me as musician and activist at the time and it holds a place in my heart. I have always wanted to do something like this myself and seriously right now we can use any positive force to unite us as a global community amongst all the hate and division going on. For this project I would like to expand the scope a bit so I am looking for the following people to create a short film and music piece in the spirit of one world one voice. Also unlike Kevin I will most likely not be travelling as we have more possibilities through internet nowadays but never say never :)

I am looking for
A- musicians to collaborate with and create our musical piece
B- regular people who might want to give us video snippets of them selves for the video
C- Visual artists, stop motion artists and animators who might want to contribute a snippet to the piece.
D- poets who might want to contribute pieces that will be incorporated as well (no more than 15 lines. If longer it will be incorporated in a companion e- book where short stories will be welcome as well )
E- dancers who might want to provide footage dancing to the music piece to be incorporated in the video

This will be a larger project and will probably take about 12 months to complete maybe a bit more so this is not instant gratification, it will be a process. If you are interested I would love to have you, if you have friends you think might like to participate send them my way

Now you might ask yourself why do this as it has been done before and true this is not innovative but the concept is beautiful and now almost 30 years later let us the next generation leave our piece of unity for the generation after us to hold. As this idea manifests and progresses there will be further updates on it’s progress. For now “One” is just the working title the name of the project might change in future.

P.s let me be brazen here crew of @dsound are you guys in ?

(Image credit Dave Renike and a portrait of the fair jubilee made by myself turned into this here universal truth meme) 1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

moi.jpg

nan small.jpg

Image Credit
ss.jpg

Image Credit
lgbt.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

image.png

Image Credit
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

music.jpg

Sort:  

Tyger! This is a great initiative, that has to be resteemed and put to all the 'post pomotion' rooms of all the discord channels!!!
I'd gladly offer videos of mine or recite one of Russian poems (a tiny one) or I could sing maybe... Anything that would fit!

Love it <<<33333333

What a super idea @tygertyger
Good luck with this project.

I really enjoy the music 🎶 video

Yes!! I have no musical talents, I will contribute in any way I can! I could try poetry, but it hasn't been great recently. I am no dancer but I love doing it anyway, but for you, I would donate any video clips you needed :) I enjoy stop motion, but again suck at it, i did do a little series, but only posted the first part cos it is very much amateur

I haven't had chance to watch the video all the way through (yet!), but it reminds me a little of the playing for change videos <3 I would love to be a part of this in any way you could make use of me!

Brilliant and thank you .I was not aware of the song around the world project it seems like they do it regularly. It is good to know that more people are doing stuff like that. This thing is going to take a while as i really want to also incorporate writers and , painters , and video makers , dancers ect too :) Let us hope it all works out , i must me nuts to do this considering I am notoriously shy , lol

Well if you hold my hand again, we can break out of our comfort zones together lol

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

I like your message but I must confess this is a huge project. I didn't get a chance to see Kevin Godley's "One World" but it seems like you are putting together a documentary... Is that right?

No I want to do a similar project but incorporate the mentioned other things to also the video posted is kevin's project so you can watch it there

I'm watching it now^^ I see how this inspired you.

I would be curious (also as @musicapoetica, but orchestras are more difficult to coordinate). However, it is a really immense project though!

Would love to have an orchestra join, it is that is why it is going to take about a year to do :)

No guarantees! It is a tricky thing to convince a bunch of musicians...

Nods I know but we have more than a year time this is going to take a while ;)

all my poetry is totally free.
so are all my tunes.
i don't want money or fame. i want folk to think. and be happy in new ways.

Great idea! I'd help with the music.

Hi Tyger. Spaceman Here.
tell me more about the poets. what other requirements etc i have a lot of short-form stuff i'd be glad to contribute.. Re-tuned.jpg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95