Special Dance Weekend - Oldies Part 1 with Abba

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Dance Weekend - 70ies / 80ies - Abba

Steemians - we start into Dance Weekend today with another Special. This time it is not about a certain country, city or music style (well Dance is given of course) but about a certain time area. This weekend I will post about epic Oldies in Dance, everyday I will present a band, singer, act that played a role in my personal music history. So we start with a band from Sweden!

Abba - The band of my first music invest!

When I was younger I lived in times where you could buy vinyl records and music cassettes. This was before even the CD - Compact Disc - has been invented, not talking about digital music formats at all. The very first music product I bought in my life was a music cassette from the marvellous Abba back in 1980 - the album was called Super Trouper and contains 10 songs that all are great. Some Dance, some ballads, some great produced pop songs. The entry song above is from a different album but probably one of these Dance Songs that everyone knows.

Super Trouper was the seventh studio album by ABBA

It was first released in 1980. It features the No.1 singles "The Winner Takes It All" and "Super Trouper". The title song and a great Dance Tune with "Take A Chance on Me" below.

ABBA (stylized ᗅᗺᗷᗅ) in History

The group was formed 1972 in Stockholm and the original band members have been Agnetha Fältskog, Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson, and Anni-Frid Lyngstad. Agnatha was my first celeb love, nowadays you call that maybe internet love lol. ABBA is an acronym of the first letters of the band members' first names and is sometimes stylized as the registered trademark ᗅᗺᗷᗅ. The band became one of the most commercially successful acts in the history of popular music, topping the charts worldwide from 1975 to 1982. They also won the Eurovision Song Contest 1974 at the Dome in Brighton, UK, giving Sweden its first triumph in the history of the contest and being the most successful group ever to take part in the competition. Ulvaeus and Andersson are also known for writing the Broadway musical "Chess" in 1980.

ABBA

ABBA has sold over 500 million albums and singles worldwide (estimated), which makes them one of the best-selling music artists of all time, and the second best-selling music group of all time. ABBA was the first group to come from a non-English-speaking country that enjoyed consistent success in the charts of English-speaking countries, including the UK, Ireland, the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. The group also enjoyed significant success in Latin American markets, and recorded a collection of their hit songs in Spanish. Some of their songs (or parts) got used / sampled by other knows artists as well. Here two more of my favourites even younger ones might recognise from other songs.

Final Song is the traditional - Now go Home Song

I remember it so well - if the club wants to close this song is usually the final track played by any DJ in usuals clubs (not hardcore Techno ones) to throw out the audience - lol - "Thank You For the Music".

Sort:  

Ich oute mich hiermit gerne als ABBA Fan!
:-)

Das musste ich einfach mal mit 100% voten :-)
Same here 🙋

Vielen Dank liebe surfermarly! :-)

Da vote ich doch mit voller Inbrunst zurück... ;-)
Ich überlege gerade, welches mein Lieblingslied von Abba ist.
Aber es ist unmöglich, da eines rauszupicken.

Lay All Your Love On Me, Dancing Queen, Move On, Fernanado, The Winner Takes It All, Chiquitita, The Day Before You Came.
Das sind die, die ich auf Anhieb ganz oben ansiedeln würde...

Weiß gar nicht, wann ich das Wort Inbrunst das letzte Mal gehört habe, zu gut! :-) Und Danke für den Konter! :-)

Also mein Lieblingslied ist auf jeden Fall Thank you for the music. Ich liebe die Idee, dass jeder ein gewisses Talent in sich birgt.

My mother said that I could dance before I could walk. Das hätte meine Mom auch sagen können, hehe :-)

Happy dancing weekend!
Da hat der Uwe uns nun ja was eingebrockt. Bei mir laufen die Songs nun in der Endlosschleife bis Sonntag durch :-P

Sowas darf er uns gerne wieder "einbrocken" ! ;-)

Meins war immer Gimme Gimme Gimme gefolgt von Lay All Your Love On Me.

Thank you for the Music war nicht mein Ding, was wohl daran liegt, dass es immer das Ende einer Tanznacht bedeutete, Rausschmeiserlied, da war ich wohl immer traurig :-)

OMG, I love you! Really! Haha
Is there anything cooler than starting a weekend with Abba?! I grew up with these songs, so nice. Thank you!!!
Resteemed

Glad you like it - they are the best produced project ever in my view. Thanks a lot marly

Hallo lieber Uwe. Ein schöner Beitrag mit toller Musik. Wie immer gibt es auch dazu wieder eine Erinnerung. Als ich noch ein junger Bub war , begann bei mir das Interesse gegenüber der Musik. Mein Kumpel von damals war hier schon gut aufgestellt und besaß einen Plattenspieler. Um auch mitzuhalten, hatte ich damals aus meinem Vater seinem Plattenschrank ein paar Platten mitgenommen. Roger Whitheker und ein paar andere Scheiben und eine ABBA Platte. Ich hatte Sie bei meinem Kumpel vergessen. Lange hat man es nicht gemerkt. Ich konnte zwar alle wiederholen aber die ABBA Scheibe blieb verschwunden. Das war auch noch die Lieblingsplatte von meinem Vater. Es gab natürlich Hausarrest usw. Daher habe ich ein zweigeteiltes Verhältnis zu dieser Gruppe. Aber dennoch machten Sie wirklich tolle Musik und sind tolle Künstler. Grüße Markus

oha, böser Bube, hast ihm die Platte später wenigstens geschenkt :-)?

Ich habe sie ihm dann später in digitaler Form durch eine CD ersetzt. Aber damals war es natürlich schon heftig.. Du musst wissen Papa ist Südländer und das temperamentvolle kam dann natürlich voll zum Vorschein.. Grüße aus Brunsbüttel heute lieber Uwe

ABBA = legend
I had a crush on the brunette when I was a kid.

Frida? That means you are more the rebel type lol? She is cool

Thanks, great opportunity to go back in time ... my favourite always has been "the winner takes it all". First it's true, secondly it gave me a good feeling to accept that one of my friends was more successful with the girl Leroy was in love with :-)

I only know a song "the @twinner takes it all" lol

In fact he gives it all :-)

Uwe! You must change one of your tags to abba! Please - for me and the gods of seo.

I love this music so much! I hated it when I was a head-banging hippie in the 1970's. It was reviled by my teen-aged rock and rolling circle.

Well, never was I more shocked to find my son @bxlphabet singing abba songs with gusto in 5th grade. They used the songs for Physical Education in California!

So, then we went to see the Broadway touring show when it came to San Diego. So great! And of course the movie. I think there is a new one coming out so you are timely. I will most definitely be playing through this more than once.

I don't know if you remember Caleb from tsu, but now he is posting here and doing really well! I'm a proud mama. We are also getting more tsuers coming back or joining lately.

Well, I haven't been dancing much and this is another strange one - just like you expect from me! Take care, Uwe.
Love you!
https://steemit.com/danceweekend/@fitinfun/maplestory-music-motivation-memories

Only for you I will eventually change a tag later :-) - will check out Caleb too. He has good music taste - did not know you got so enthusiastic on Abba

Thank you! It had to grow on me and now I can sing all the songs. I already knew the 70's dances :)

vor meiner Zeit aber Abba kann man immer hören da Sie zeitlos sind:) Beste Grüße und ein schönes Wochenende

My parents were great fans .. XD

outstanding music @uwelang. Thanks for sharing enjoyable post.

This do remind me to the times I was young ,.. my father always listened to this music,.. bring back good memories !! Thanks !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60