How I leaned to make beats (produce) in 1992 and why y'all have it so easy now!

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I'm definitely not an OG, but I've been involved in Hip Hop for over 25 years now (and still doing it). Growing up in Downtown Toronto in the 80's it was through the movies Breakin' and Beat Street that I got my first introduction to what most people at the time had coined a "Fad". In the form of BBoying I met Hip Hop.

I didn't know much about the history then, but I was drawn to the movements and dance immediately. During the summer of '85 my friends and I made it a weekly routine of setting up our broken-down cardboard box on Queen St. W in front of the (now gone) Bamboo. We didn't have much growing up so the money we made busking went to buying new batteries for the boombox and some candy and soda. The good old days.

Fast forward to 1991. My mother had rented a keyboard & sequencer from Long & McQuade to mess around with. You're probably wondering what a sequencer is huh? Well, that's not that important to the story. So I started to mess around with it as well, using some of my cassettes and CD's to sample from and make loops of my favorite songs. I was hooked!

By the summer of '92 I'd saved enough money from my jobs to buy my very own Roland W-30 for $2000. It was my prized possession and eventually the instrument that brought into existence one of Canada's biggest Hip Hop crews. (that's another story)

The video above shows what The Prodigy used to create their songs and is the best example I could find to show you. If only I can find those old 8MM takes again and put up the footage. I definitely need to do that one day!

CSCstudio2.jpg

If you're familiar with the famous Akai MPC-2000 some of what I'm about to explain might familiar. See, the W-30 had a total of 7 seconds of sampling time at 12-bit, which you could could double by reducing to 6-bit. At first I was just sampling loops from my moms Vinyl or CD's and Cassettes that I had and I would assign the samples to different keys and hold them down in loop mode. It made for a simple start with immediate results.

TIP: To get even more time we would speed the record up to 45RPM

But how did I set the in & out points for the loop without visually seeing the wave? Well.. That's called "Truncating". I would record my sample, use the dial and while listening, I would locate manually with my ears the in point and the end point and then I would Truncate the selection to free up more time by deleting the unused end bits.

CSCstudio.jpg

The two photos above were taken in 1998 in our home studio the Cryptik Souls "Cabana". First one is of me with some of our record collection and the second one is the brother Jomo checking out the studio.

So when you open up your DAW to make your next beat, think about how easy you have it now!

Here are some beats that were created over the years compiled by the brother Obe One.

Sort:  

Hello :) It's impressive, 25 years is a looong time. In 1992 I was 2 years old :D But still I remember music from those years. Good luck @vandigital!

Thanks @websensei! Glad you like the post :)

It sure is @websensei! Have a wonderful day!

that's a legacy respect! happy to make beats and we honestly have it easier with FL and stuff all of that pricey hardware is now in software and easily atainable.

Yeah i hear you! I was using Ableton for a while, but then I refocused what I was doing and took a back seat from making beats. I do miss it though!

Dope! I remember 6 seconds of sampling time, and looping cassette tapes. My first sampler was a roland ms1. lol! So I feel blessed today for sure.
download.jpg

not my actual ms1 by the way lol

Roland had so many dope products but the king of swing for the boombap was always the MPC2000! Blessed indeed!

I had an mpc 60, 2000, 2000xl, 3000, asr-10, sp1200, . I even worked for Akai for free for about 2 years with all the legends.

Why do you say that?

What do you mean?

I was talking about how the beat swings to give it that boombap feel, not too ridged like an accurately placed sequence on the beat..

You mean when you don't hit your bass note at the same time as the drummer?

this might help explain what i mean -

Thanks! Have a great day!

Nice LOL, what instrument(s) do you play if any... following you...

I'm more of a vocalist but I occasionally bang on a djembe or mess around with a mouth harp, though I lost the last one I had :( do a lil bit of beatbox as well..

Sounds like fun! Thanks for this post @vandigital
Have a wonderful day! Can I ask you a huge personal favour?

sure what's up?

@vandigital Nice post....beat making is still challenging for me. I use the Maschine by Native Instruments. My biggest problem is I can't focus on one thing. I want to do it all! I think my best skill is rapping. Check it out if you have a chance.

https://steemit.com/music/@bigpay/i-just-wanna-live-by-miggie

Whatever it is man just have fun with it! Imma peep the link. One!

Back in the day, I had a D-50 and and MPC 60. Both together were pretty dangerous beat making machines.

Nice! I had a Casio SK-1 and used to love it! was really hard to make a loop though, had to pitch the sample accordingly to make it loop properly!

I remember the sk-1. My friend had one and we used it so much we broke it. :)

Hahaha i think mine was missing a few keys too lol

haha yess! Love the photo's & the beats!

Hello brother It's great to see more hip hop artists here!
I'm a B.boy and beat maker, in love with hip hop culture since 2005. I'm following you here, and on soundcloud too. Visit my profile and if you want follow me too. We'll share our knowledge and experiences. Hip Hop changes lives. Peace and love.

B.boy Ayron
Foot Work Crew.

Awesome bro! Hope to hear your entry in the #beatbattle coming up! Sharing is what builds the bridges and strengthens the culture. One love!

Great, bro. Can you explain me better about @beattlebeat and how can I participate?

Look for the hashtag #beatbattle and you'll see a "submissions" thread. You're supposed to upload a video of your beat (even better if you show visually how you made it) and then create a post. In your post tag beatbattle as your first tag and then later on the official thread you can just post in the comments with your video and a few words..

The ol skool way is the best way...I know nothing about hip hop but reading your post I learned something new today :) ...and by the way I chucked when you mentioned buying batteries for your boombox ...those were the days :D

Yeah we had no choice but to get those batteries or we wouldn't have any music to dance to! Thanks for reading @coloringiship!

Did you have anyone to teach you or just go trial and error or off of the manual? Ive always used a computer program but know how much work goes in to doing simple things like just chopping things up. Speaking of Prodigy i was watching some videos on recreations of their songs on ableton and all the samples they used, what they did with the samples was amazing the true art of sampling and they done all this on hardware, crazy

I learned by trial and error as well as consulting the manual. It was a process but when you're younger and have more leisure time it was definitely well spent!

Wow man this is some epic shit. Perfect insight into who you are man I have so much respect for you its nuts. thanks for all you have and continue to do for hip hip.

Appreciate the storytelling abilities and tips, so much value in here for producers (beatmakers).

Yeah I figured if I'm gonna judge the #beatbattle I'd do post rather than just a lil blurb nah mean?! Happy to share my experiences so to benefit others :)

O heck yeah man especially since I mean we are on a bloggin site hahaha :)

Appreciate humble musical ninjas like you man you are a rarity. And I am looking forward to soaking up all that epic knowledge and stories you have to have.

Namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68494.93
ETH 3762.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65