Throw back Metal: Metallica's "Master of Puppets"

in #music5 years ago

Yesterday my wife was shopping together with our oldes son so I went to our "laundry-room" to iron and fold up some clothes, and with that I always put on some music to make that time more fun :).

I usually turn on Spotify, as I did today, but today I searched for Metallica. It was a long time since I listened to Metallica because I personally think that their work from the latest years wasn't all that. I think it is a normal development for a band when they are getting more popular the music changes more towards a broader audience and the spikes are losing... But with Metallica (when you listen to the realt early work) it is quiet a difference.

I was introduced by Metallica trough their album "Master of Puppets" by my oldest brother. I think I was 13 or 14 at the time. He had a TDK-SA-90 cassette-tape with the album which I borowed from him. I remember the first time I heared "Battery", a great intro with acoustic guitar, not knowing what came right after that :)...

Battery


For already a lot of years Metallica is subject of discussion (especially Lars Ulrich the drummer) that they can't keep up anymore with the speed and timing of those old songs on their live gigs. And I agree, there is a lot of accents left out of the live performances from which I think takes the spirit out of the song.
I did found one performance of them playing Battery in 2017, that's comming close to the original studio version, and as you can see... It is hard work :)

Welcome home (sanitarium)


Another song of the Master of Puppets album I want to highlight is "Welcome home (Sanitarium)".
The build of this song is just great. The great (clean) guitarrif at the beginning, the slow start and the heavy (and later on) riffs are just awesome composed..

For me Master of Puppets is the greatest album ever released by Metallica with a upclose of Ride the lightning. Which is your best Metallica album? , would love to hear it.

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Indeed a great album. But I find 'The Black Album' at least just as great.

The black album is a great album too, but with the black album I already hear some more "mainstream" metal if you know what I mean. Isn't bad at all but they already went another direction with that album. It did bring them the recognision to the broad crowd...

I keep hearing about 'Master of Puppets' but have only really got into 'The Black Album'. Maybe its another one for the car. I need something new to listen too.

If you do listen it in the car, what the pedal on the right :)

The Black album is good, although a bit mainstream and led to their widespread success... anything earlier than that is where the real thrash metal is! I remember always trying to learn the older songs on the guitar

They really did have some good songs. Too bad they had to get all high and mighty and ruin the online music industry :) Just kidding. Have I mentioned Greta Van Fleet to you in the past? You should check them out. Good music from good kids just down the expressway from my town.

Greta Van Fleet, I know them...they are awesome.... Young kids with the 60's / 70's Zepplin sound.... Really great !!!

Their latest album is superb - fully back to form if you ask me!

true !! thank you !!

I do like a bit of Metallica. I picked up 'Ride The Lightning' when it first came out on recommendation of my local record shop owner. It's a stunning album, and while I'm not a big thrash fan, the bass playing of Cliff Burton elevates it above the norm. It sent me back to 'Kill Em All', which is really only good for the covers of Budgie and Diamond Head.
I don't rate '...Puppets' or '...Justice...' very highy, mainly 'cos the production is horribly tinny. The black album is a step up ub both songwriting and production.
At risk of getting a lot of flak, I think 'Load' & 'Reload' are great albums - proof that the band can go beyond thrash and still make interesting music. I'd love to say the same about 'Lulu', but that would be pushing it. Although, I recall playing with the order of the tracks and getting a much better experience out of it (now there's a blog post).
Since 'St Anger', which has some powerful songs, I've stopped listening. The album mastering is compressed to hell and back and they're just not enjoyable to listen to.

Cliff Burton was a master on bass.... haven't been someone after him. Jason was a good bassplayer and Robert is also greaqt but nothing beats Cliff :)

because I personally think that their work from the latest years wasn't all that
Yeah agreed - since after the black album and they went a bit more soft and pop sounding they havent really been the same - although the lateste album was brilliant I thought - back to their roots

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.233 which ranks you at #8404 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97