The Greatest Album Covers of the Modern Times... Part 1

in #music6 years ago

I love art and I love music and when those two forms meet in a union of expression the results can be remarkable, keeping in mind these are all great albums and definitely worth a listen. I'm sure there are also a lot of albums and artworks that are amazing that I haven't put up here, I would certainly love if you guys reading this would post them down in the comments so I could have a look and a listen.



Without further ado!

Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

This is extremely haunting, I can't get over how daunting and incredibly monstrous the reaper is, watching his work follow him unto the otherside. The album itself is one 83 minute track that will challenge all you hold dear. It is an incredible accomplishment and a must have for all doom/sludge enthusiasts.
Bellwitch.jpg

Lycus - Tempest

This album cover is purely about death and despair you can almost feel it coming out from the work. Gravestones, corpses and skeletons abound in this horrific depiction of complete and utter futility. The album does exactly what it says on the tin and gives you some extremely epic and forlorn disastery all about death.
Lycus tempest.jpg

Child - Blueside

The cover of this album is extremely interesting, you get the centrepiece of the image a double helix representing a DNA strand being brought forth from the cold and frozen tundra, you also get the infinite of space above, simple and extremely effective. The album is a little different to the others on this list. Child hearken back to the early days of heavy music and sound like bands such as Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple but have given the music a modern setting.
Child blueside.jpg

Lord Dying - Summon The Faithless

The colours of this album cover are extremely striking, pinks and greens aren't usually something you see but are really eye catching. The demon in the middle shrouded in a green cloak looking upon an hourglass as the winged beast looks on in the background. A well drawn and ominous image. The album is sludge mastery, crushing and unrelenting until the final bar, not unlike the album cover.
Lord Dying.jpg

Monolord - Rust

A photograph of 2 cars stood on their ends in a desert somewhere wouldn't usually make for good art but this image is excellent, it proves that a simple photograph can make an excellent album cover. It asks a lot of questions but offers no answers which is why it works so well. The album is an extremely well written doom bastard, creating an incredible soundscape that you can't not headbang along to.
Monolord rust.jpg

Saor - Guardians

This album cover is immense and really gives you the feeling of a completely open and sparse expanse with which to explore. It looks like a modern version of Starry Night by Van Gogh. The album is a folky black metal epic which really suits the cover, nature, music and art all coming together as one.
Saor.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @vikinghammer, I see you're from SA. We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out:

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-12-09-18-will-steem-monsters-make-me-famous

Yes that would be excellent, I've been going it alone and doing alright but would love to be a part of a group that helps and encourages one another!

Great. You can see what I need from you in that post:

Intro post (or tell me something about yourself), where you live (or thereabouts), a fun fact about yourself, and vote for ausbitbank as witness. Then I'll get on you the team.

where do you want me to post that to? here?
https://steemit.com/anintroduction/@vikinghammer/an-introduction
I already voted for ausbitbank as witness.

A fun fact about me? I used to be in a band then when that fell apart I started writing about music and created my own website but for one reason or another that fell apart, then I found Steemit and I now have another outlet for my music writing! I also live in a caravan in country SA about an hours drive south from Adelaide. I guess that's a fun fact too haha!

Great. Thanks. I'll let you know when I've done the update (within the next few days).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66