My 3 top albums picks that are now over 10 YEARS OLD!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Music lovers, get ready to feel the pinch when you read this list of albums that were released in 2007! The 2007 music scene was made up of many different genres of music, from the experimental rock of Yeasayer to techno like David Guetta's "Delirious" (yes - this was considered techno at the time!!!). 2007 was also a year of goals met by underground musicians (such as Anberlin, Explosions in the Sky, Burial), and had some amazing debuts (such as The Field’s From Here We Go Sublime, Deerhunter’s Cryptograms). In 2007, some reasonably new artists of the time easily hit peaks (LCD Soundsystem’s The Sound of Silver, M.I.A.’s Kala), and veterans scaled new heights (Radiohead’s In Rainbows and Because of the Times by Kings of Leon). Here are 3 of the many albums that I personally loved in 2007, that are now making me feel old!!!

Screen Shot 2018-01-03 at 12.30.37.png

  1. The Shepard's Dog - Iron & Wine: The Shepherd’s Dog was Iron and Wine’s third full-length album, where Sam Beam finally completed the jump from his sparse voice-and-guitar beginnings into full-band, maximalist splendor. This album brought his touring band back together, including sister Sarah on backing vocals, and Deck. The Shepherd’s Dog is an eclectic, energising record with disparate imagery in the lyrics, along with an organic texture to the music, creating a phantasmagoric scene.

    Click HERE to listen to "Flightless Bird, American Mouth"

  2. Favourite Worst Nightmare - Arctic Monkeys: According to NME, at the time, this was the most anticipated album since The Stone Roses’ ‘Second Coming’. And it was huge. This album was somewhat of a comeback to the English music scene for the Arctic Monkeys, and it quickly received a royal welcome at home. The band came back tougher, sharper, and bleaker, even if to non-fans of this brand of no-frills Britrock it probably still sounds pretty much the same.

    Click HERE to listen to "Fluorescent Adolescent"

  3. For Emma, Forever Ago - Bon Iver: As a huge fan and an avid follower of Justin Vernon, I cannot BELIEVE this one is now over 10 years old. Bon Iver's debut, with it's background story of Vernon's isolation in the remote Wisconsin cabin is an anchoring point for all of his fans, and has brought us on a musical journey. Contrasting heavily with their latest release "22, a million", this album can be described as indie folk, and really was the band's break through (please excuse the love in this one, JV is my main influence and idol in my own productions, as you may be able to tell)...

    Click HERE to listen to "Skinny Love"

    For interested readers, here are some research/info sources, and feel free to share your own favourites in the comments!

    https://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2007/09/the-shepherds-dog.html
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_2007_albums
    http://www.nme.com/reviews/album/reviews-arctic-monkeys-8427
    https://pitchfork.com/features/lists-and-guides/6753-top-50-albums-of-2007/
    https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/10150-favourite-worst-nightmare/

    Thank you for reading this far! Here are some links to my social media. If you're on any of these, don't be shy, drop a follow and comment your own link - I do love to get to know the community! I have a lot of video snippets of my own original music on my instagram (linked below). I'm happy to now be really getting into Steemit blogging and talking about music from here on in, with my own music reviews, playlists, picks for events and moods, and of course my own original music and other music related projects.

    1. Click HERE for my Insta 📸
    2. Click HERE for my Twitter 🐦
    3. Click HERE for my Bandcamp 🎵
    4. Click HERE for my Soundcloud 🎤

Sort:  

Goodness, For Emma, Forever Ago can't be that old! Such an amazing album, I still listen to it all the time haha.

Me too. It's amazing isn't it?!? I feel old! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76