Everything In The Music Business

in #music6 years ago

Weiss here,

Still ramping up before doing any video blogs. I attended NAMM for the first time today - which is the Nation Association of Music Merchants conference. Basically just the most glorified excuse to get a bunch of music nerds together in one place. It occurs next to Disney Land, which feels appropriate.

I met Graham from The Recording Revolution for the first time. You'd think being one of the more prominent people in audio education I'd have met the guy but we almost never crossed paths. Seems like a good dude.

I hung out at the Slate booth test the Virtual Microphone System. It's a pretty crazy concept. Slate made an exceptionally flat and neutral sounding mic, and then built software that morphs the sound into a microphone that it models. Testing it side by side with a K capsule U47 I could barely hear a difference. Truly impressive tech they've come up with.

I also carpooled down with a dude named Lovy. Turns out he's got all sorts of Grammy noms and gold plaques for Gwen Stefani and Iggy Azalea and a bunch of World Music artists. He kept calling me Rabbi Weiss. I told him I expect to be credited as Matthew "Rabbi" Weiss on anything I mix for him. Then we rolled out to the Peruvian spot and got fried Yucca with a yellow sauce. The yellow sauce is bomb, and I expect anyone I meet up with to come have lunch with me at this place. I don't know what's in it but my theory is: cream based, lots of pepper, chicken stock, salt, and turmeric.

After that, made my way home, spread out some bitcoin over altcoins. Doing super speculative positions because why the heck not, holding Tronix because I believe the hype, holding ZCL because eventually that fork'll happen, holding POE and GNT because they're actually projects I believe in (go figure) and flipping between Substratum and OST for little day trades. And Steem of course, cause here I am.

-Matt

Sort:  

Amazing! Looking forward to your articles and content, following you now :)

Thanks for sharing, Matt! Great to have you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67