You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Covers that are better than the original (IMHO)

in #music6 years ago

I honk the best covers sound absolutely nothing like the original. At least there is much of the artist who is covering inside of the song. I really hate seeing cover bands because they all try to play the songs perfectly.

I’m trying to think of some good cover songs but not too many coming to mind....
Back in the day I lived the Living End’s cover of “tainted love”.

Recently I heard a cover of “Love will tear us apart” by Yat Kha...interesting to say the least. And Feist’s cover of James Blake’s “Limit to your love” is cool, it’s so her but it still keeps the basic melody of the original song. One friend in Japan does a version of Bob Dylan’s “Don’t think Twice” in Japanese and a bit sweeter than the original, I’ll leave a link below. Oh yeah I heard another friend (female so really different vocals) do a crazy lo-fi acoustic reggae version of the Beatles “Tomorrow never knows”, it was sooooo sick, I’ll have to ask if she’s has a recording. Oh! Jose Gonzalez does a great cover of the Knife’s “Heartbeats”but I still like the original better.

Japanese friend playing bob Dylan:

Sort:  

I agreee with you! It is so cool when covers are fresh and hardly recognizable from the old versions!

Oe I know that tainted love version!!! the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81