Recording music is hard! #2 - DIY

in #music5 years ago

I’m on a roll. I just spent four hours recording on my own. It’s the first time I’ve done it. The result is not something I want to share but I can say with confidence that it’s way better than the $30 I did with some random guy 10 years ago when I first started, but not nearly as good as the demo my friend recorded 3 years ago. I am finally in the right mindset and mature enough as a musician to keep going with this and record something even better once I learn a thing or two.

I first did a guitar track and a vocal track. They sounded a bit off but afternoon some experimenting with EQ and light reverb they sound a bit better...still looking for how to improve the sound a bit. Then I played with effects for a while but took all of them off and recorded a bit of a lead guitar with some distortion.
The main take away from today is that I finally feel comfortable recording with Ableton and have some very concrete ways to move forward with recording, I finally know what I need to learn.

I need to learn how to put effects on only part of a track, how to EQ better, how to use reverb more effectively, how to sing into a mic better, how to use more effects to get the desired results, and I need to pend a fair amount of time trying out different backup vocals and lead guitars....it’s still a while before I think about bass, percussion or other sounds. It’s a lot! But I’m thrilled that I finally know what is between me and an awesome recording!
I’ve made a promise to myself to seriously spend one to two weeks on each of my songs until a demo version of my album is complete so I can bring it to one of my friends to help me perfect it and so I can learn how to do this all on my own next time.

49415698_518147712029852_7401182172402417664_n.jpg

Come take a look inside my mind at I+Everything

Sort:  

I'm wishing you a great time improving yourself!! Since I'm on Steemit I did nothing else in my spare time than learning about music production and it is so satisfying to hear the results in the music..... keep on going! :)

I’ll have to catch your music sometime. I’m often on steemit when I’m out and no wifi so I can’t listen or watch but I’ll try to remember when I’m home this week!

Awesome to see you are pressing ahead. Have used the Scarlett interface for years and I still dig it A LOT.
Aye it's a lot to learn, but starting is the most important thing. In a year you'll hardly remember how overwhelming it all first seemed. Thrilled to hear that album when it comes out

May I recommend Graham's awesome channel for most recording and studio related matters? It's a treasure trove of insight and FAQs: https://www.youtube.com/user/recordingrevolution

Ahhh thanks, I’ll watch this until I can get my hands on a mic stand later this week

Once you get through the initial difficult bits everything will just start cascading and you will be fully pro in no time and teaching other people your secrets 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! When you say it, I know how true it is, just like I can with languages and guitar. I don’t know a lot but one thing I know is how to hack the basics, hold my own and impress!

Awesome mate, as far as tips and tricks for recording acoustic guitar and vocals it sounds like you're on the right "track"..

Being comfortable is essential, maybe you can try layering by recording with different mic placements... If it feels natural and you have your levels not too hot it can be tweaked when mixing..

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the biggest issue I had was that my mic was twice the distance it needed to be and on the table because I had no mic stand. Gotta go get one.

I’ve got to get more sensitive in order to mix!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.002 which ranks you at #1091 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1092).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95