My take on British festivals - Festival recommendations needed!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

It's British Summer Time (if you ignore the sporadic, Arctic chill) and that can only mean one thing.. festival season!

Festival season always gets me feeling some kind of way. Feeling somewhere in between not young enough and not tolerant enough to be a 'festival goer'. I love the 'anything goes' dress code and general vibe, but when it comes to music.. I struggle.

my dream festival get up - via Instagrammer @parissinclair

I'm the kind of woman who likes what she likes. I know how I like my eggs - so to speak. Even though eggs aren't my bag. Alright bad analogy.. in this case what I mean is I know what kind of music I like.
As I mentioned in my last post, for me the art of music is much like visual art. Everyone has a preference, an objective opinion. I don't speak about music much, either on or offline, just as I don't speak much about what art exhibitions are on my hitlist. It isn't something which I want to fit in with or necessarily a social thing, but music is something quite personal and emotional to me regardless of genre. What I like when it comes to music is vocals.. lyrics. I'm a word kind of person. Words before genre.
I'm open to trying new music, sometimes, but I know if I like it almost instantly.

Amy Winehouse said something which stuck with me once, about the old, soul singers who would be 

" singing about the kind of heartbreak you would find at the bottom of a bottle of whiskey.'

Give me J Cole all day, but I still love that deep, gritty, heartbreak kind of soul. The kind that is perfect for crying into a glass of red. Maybe it's a lyric thing again!

I digress. I'm hating on British festivals because I feel like they don't offer a diverse, unique, experience. Unless it's Glastonbury, which is truly a sensational experience because there is something for everyone regardless of age,  I feel like there's not enough variety at British festivals. Sure there are different genres, but everything is so modern. There's a severe lack of variety in terms of age or range of artists and tempo.
Don't get me started on EDM or techno. Maybe i'm too old, or i've just got bad taste. Like I said, all art is subjective. This is how I feel every time..

And it's all much of the same these days.

I'd love to see more Dolly Parton and Elton John. Sure put them alongside  J Cole and Chance The Rapper! Variety is always a good idea.

So tell me, steemians, what are the best British festivals to go to? Have I missed anything spectacular?
Or which other festivals from around the world would you recommend I go to?


Yasmine


Sort:  

Glastonbury and Coachella and Comic Con.

Honestly most the festivals I like are 3000 miles away from me, even some of my favourite artists like J Cole, Kendrick, Post Malone and loads of others. I guess it depends on where we live and grow up that defines our tastes as well. I guess Britain is not up to the level for festivals as it is in America.

I mean it's amazing here, not quite US level, but good in terms of the amount of festivals. Just not so good for variety.

I'll tell you what you're missing - https://lovesupremefestival.com/#XEmBF0jlGmVOLeMd.97
Earth, Wind and Fire? Hello!
Or what about Wilderness - https://www.wildernessfestival.com/
There's tons of amazing festivals here but I'm more partial to a bit of house than you I guess. Glastonbury 2019...living for it.

I think if we’re looking at Britain alone - there isn’t anything better than Glastonbury. At least nothing that I found yet. Though I’m keen to try Farr Festival in the woods with @joham 😏😏😏

Hey, I think it is always sold out, but Boom Town is the best festival in UK, very diverse with its musical selection, great atmosphere and just a gem;] As well Green Man if it's still going, just across the bridge in Wales, Secret Garden...Oh been so long since I left, so might be a lot more now, but these are quite well known and established, there are plenty of small more intimate festivals out there. Good luck enjoy wherever you go, have a dance for us in the southern hemisphere;]

You know, someone just told me this yesterday about Boom Town! I think I need to check it out! :-) Thanks so much for sending this info over.

Even though our music taste differ so much I love festivals and definitely can advice on some;] Hope you can get tickets;]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66768.66
ETH 3100.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68