Fiddle Friday Update #7

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This week, I play the first half of Cuckoo's Nest, a song my instructor gave me yesterday. I suck. I really suck. But it's a work in progress. For the next update, I'll play the song again, and it should be better.

I play the first 3 sheets of 6 sheets of music. Here are the first 3:

IMG_5868.JPG
IMG_5869.JPG
IMG_5870.JPG

The more I play, the more I love it. I haven't even picked up my ukulele in a week. For those of you who appreciate that I have not been posting ukulele videos, feel free to leave me a Steem tip.

I may have to change my SteemIt page description from "uke it" to "fiddle it," or maybe just "F it."

Sort:  

I see progress! Very nice and strong playing. You will be a virtuoso before you know it. :)

Thank you! I really appreciate that. This song is particularly difficult because of the double stops, triplets, and slurs. However, every song this instructor has given me has been difficult to play at first. Now I go back and those once difficult songs are easy!

You might enjoy hearing Michael Weise, my instructor, perform at a recent Texas Fiddle Championship. He's been going to the state championships since 1975, but he was most recently crowned Senior Division Champion in 2015. I'm fortunate to be able to learn from him!

Awesome man. All those notes look like another language to me. Lol. Also congrats on the $$$$. :)

Thank you so much, my friend! Sometimes it still feels like another language to me also. Lol! And wow, I am floored by the amount made by this post. It was at 13 cents when I went to sleep last night. I post these videos as a way to chronicle my progress and hopefully encourage others to learn an instrument. Music has definitely added to my life.

On another note (pun intended), I'm not sure if I ever told you my stepdad was a US Marine Force Recon Sniper in Vietnam. He was one tough SOB when I was growing up. Of course, I didn't appreciate it when I was a kid. Frankly, I was scared of him. Now I realize that what he taught me has extended beyond childhood into manhood. He died in 2009 in a motorcycle accident, and even though I hated him sometimes, I sure miss that son of a bitch now.

Thank you, @teotwawkiman, for your service and for your continued efforts to keep us safe, brother. Ain't nothin' tougher than a Marine on the scene!

Yea man. That happened to my gas mask post the other night. I was a happy man in the morning. Lol. But I am sorry to hear about your dad. But I will still thank him for his service! I'm a little tough on my boys sometimes too but i know it can only benefit them in the future. It's tough sometime to understand the world without the Corps. Lol. But thank youo so much for your support brother! I wasn't a crazy forced recon Marine like your pops though. Lol. He is a better man than I for that. Haha. No thanks. That's some tough stuff! :)

Many thanks. I know he would have appreciated it coming from a fellow Marine. I had actually gone down to talk to the Marines about joining after discussing it with him, but then I went back to school that semester and ended up breaking my damn back in a car accident and becoming paralyzed. Life can indeed be a shitstorm. How we handle the aftermath of the shitstorm determines our level of success regardless of circumstance, and that's where our upbringing comes into play. Parents who are soft on their kids are not doing their children any favors, especially if/when the offspring face real challenges in life.

But hell, I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up...or if I want to grow up at all. One of these days I'm going to drop out of the rat race and disappear into the desert. I hope it's sooner rather than later.

Hey brother. everything happens for a reason! Maybe you had to break your back so you didn't take a bullet in the Corps! Still I'm sorry that happened to you but you also seem like you have a very positive attitude! Which is awesome. Gotta love life no matter what it throws at you! And I'm also still trying to figure what I want to be when I'm a big boy too. Hahaha. I'd like to own 100 acres in the middle of the woods somewhere. That's all I know for now!

Right on, man. Keep on keepin' on.

Same to you brother! :)

You gonna be rich Uncle Daddy!

Hope so! I'm lookin' to trade fer a new shack down by the crick.

Der's gold in dat der crick!

I'm calling bullshit on 90% of the votes for this post. They were all made within a few minutes of each other and when you look at the accounts, they are suspiciously void of original posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67488.06
ETH 3761.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56