"If Love Is A Crime," 2Baba (African Hip Hop, Music to Your Ears - GBB #19)

in #music2ears5 years ago

......."If love is a crime, I will love to go jail"

If Love Is A Crime (2006)

Arguably the most respected African artist, 2Baba has thrilled his millions of fans from across the African continent with his lively songs.

Released in 2006, If Love Is A Crime became an anthem across Africa. The fine song describes the power of love with the persona comparing love to a fine fire that keeps burning and burning and burning until eternity.

The persona goes further to say that if love is a crime, then he will love to be hunted like a criminal. Fortunately for us, love is not a crime - at least when the right persons are in love.


2Baba

Born Inocent Ujah Idibia, 2Baba, is a Nigerian singer, songwriter, record producer and entrepreneur. Prior to July 2014, he went by the stage name 2face Idibia.

He is one of the most decorated and successful Afro pop artists in Africa, and is also one of the most bankable artists in Africa.

2Baba first came into limelight with his involvement with a musical group known as Plantashun Boiz. While a member of the Plantashaun Boiz, the group released two successful albums: Body and Soul (2000) and Sold Out (2003) under the Nelson Brown's owned Label (Dove Records) before disbanding in 2004.

2Baba has received several awards including the prestigious MTV Europe Music Award, the Channel O Music Video Awards, and several other awards and nominations.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP5Hf2cD9fFcj81AqeY6RzGBo1LdZWJoW3NFNaZ9YCW6btqwhKAmjTRcSkMfp3rCySS3nvNQSWA.png

[Verse 1]
There's been a lot of toasting,
A lot of guys have been up to her,
But she told them she was waiting
For the one that God had sent to fulfill her kind of craving,
A special kind of loving,
One with love and understanding,
Come raining come shining;
People started to say that she wanted more than Mr. RIGHT,
All that she wanted was the man that sees the LIGHT,
They say she's a fool for being up too TIGHT,
When all that she wanted was good love, no be FIGHT;
That special kind of girl hard to come by,
This kind of girl na I'm I want to make wife,
You're the one,
I say no more,
Don't bother about what the people say
cos I say...

[Chorus]
Every time that I look into your eyes, I see FIRE in there (Theres Fire)
And if you look into my eyes, you see DESIRE in there (DESIRE...);
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, then I'm willing to be WANTED;
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, I'm willing to be HAUNTED;
I've gotta lot of respect for you cos your kind is SO RARE (SO RARE...),
It's kind of hard to imagine but I know YOU'RE OUT
THERE (YOU'RE OUT THERE...);
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, then I'm willing to be WANTED;
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, I'm willing to be HAUNTED;

[Verse 2]
She said to me: "Do you wanna be the last man standing",
She said to me: "Do you wanna be the one that'll be complimenting me";
Huuuh yeah! Girl, I wanna be your beginning and your ending,
Oooooh! I wanna be the only one that you'll be sending;
I can't believe she's still a virgin,
A lot of guys have been up to her,
But there's was no compromising;
She'd be strong,
she'd keeping herself until the day of her wedding,
Under the right ceiling,
With the right person,
That person deserving all that special kind of loving;

[Chorus]

[Bridge]
So keep the FIRE burning,
Keep the FIRE burning, burning, burning;
FIRE burning,
Keep the FIRE burning, burning, burning;
Keep the FIRE burning,
Keep it,
Keep the FIRE burning, burning, burning;
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, then I like to dey go JAIL,
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME, I prefer to dey stay JAIL;
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME,
Girl, if LOVE is a CRIME,
See,
Every time that I look into your eyes, I see FIRE in there,
And if you look into my eyes, you see DESIRE in there;
Keep the FIRE burning,
Keep the FIRE burning, burning, burning;
FIRE burning....
[Till fade]

This post is part of @majes.tytyty's informative and interesting series. – "Music to Your Ears."  

And please note that @majes.tytyty, except otherwise stated, holds the copyright to all the images used in this post.

SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons presented by @majes.tytyty, and get rewarded with upvotes for your participation.

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99