[Music Discovery] This week I 'ave been mostly listenin' to...

KillSwitch Engage - As Daylight Dies

Label: Roadrunner

Genre: Metalcore

I was first introduced to KillSwitch Engage in the summer of 2007, they were playing the main stage at Leeds Festival (I think they came on after Taking Back Sunday, but I can't be sure) and I was blown away. To that point, I hadn't really given genres like post-hardcore, metalcore and the likes that much attention, but I'd been converted. At this time, Howard Jones was in the band, and his operatic voice coupled with the screams blew my teenage mind.

As Daylight Dies had just been released in November 2006, so most of their set at the festival featured their newer songs, which I absolutely fucking loved. As soon as I got home, I ordered the album and waited patiently for it to arrive on my doorstep. Ever since, this has easily been one of my most listened to albums ever after Pink Floyd's The Wall and RHCP's By The Way. The Special Edition of the album also featured one of the best covers ever (in my opinion anyway), of Dio's Holy Diver which was originally recorded for one of Kerrang's Higher Voltage compilations. I've included the video for Holy Diver below, but there are so many good tracks from the album that are worth checking out, including My Curse and This is Absolution.


Are you a KSE fan, and if so do you prefer Howard Jones or Jesse Leach? It's gotta be Howard for me. Maybe you have a different favourite metalcore group? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comment section, and as always make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates! Hopefully this week I'll be getting back to my regular postings, with both an [Internet Oddities] and [Cult Watch] post planned so keep your eyes peeled for them. My VP is back at 100%, so I'll be dishing out the votes more often too, plus I'll be setting autovoting up, so I don't miss anyone. I hope you enjoyed this little look at the defining metalcore album, and until next time, take it easy!


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

Source:
As Daylight Dies on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/As_Daylight_Dies)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

You just planted 0.17 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3734.75 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25691.23
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 15.31% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @johngreenfield!

I did like it, the sound is a bit different to me from "old school" metal but I think it's more energetic sounding.

Yeah that's a good point, I've never really got into "old-school" metal but the energy of their performance converted me. Howard was a former opera singer too, so his vocal range and skill is just phenomenal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93