You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sounds: Don Dale (The Shame of Detention Centres in Australia)

in #musicmonday5 years ago

What an awful part of history. These prisons are no longer about any form of rehabilitation, they are only for profits. It’s the guard / inmate power struggle that causes a lot of these sad stories. People get a thirst for the power they exert over people and it’s awful.

Reading this my mind went to a classic depressing song that’s not quite the same but moving nonetheless
Immortal Technique- Dance with the Devil

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Oh my god... that song is totally tragic. Thanks for sharing. It totally resonates because the story of indigenous youth here totally sideswiped by life is not at all dissimilar to the experiences of America's black American youth or those who are so disempowered and disenfranchised they end up more fucked when they should be helped. This song though... whoa did not expect that ending. Beautifully done though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you were moved by it as I was. It's a powerful song and indeed about how youth gets ruined for many people for various reasons. The ending always gets me, sometimes I don't make it to the end because I know how awful it is and I can't listen despite knowing what happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87