You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday6 years ago

Wow! That's an amazing find. I've always liked Steve Marriot and the Small Faces, and I was really sad when he died – but I had no idea he could sing like this! I was aware that there was a band called Humble Pie when I was a child, but I didn't think they'd be very interesting!
Staying with the "blue-eyed soul" theme, I'm posting this lovely song, from the 1970s, by a Glasgow band called Cado Belle, who were kind of submerged as punk took off - but they were so good. I only discovered them about 20 years later, and I bought their album. I love Maggie Bell's beautiful clear vocals so much that I went to see her live a few years ago. It was a sold-out gig, and her vocals were just as amazing as they were back in the 70s.

Sort:  

Hey @natubat I'm glad you enjoyed my choice .. but you're right the words Humble Pie probably don't instill as much confidence as they should, especially as they were such a tight band .. and like you say what a voice! Like yourself I was really saddened by his death, he was in the middle of putting a new album together and was on top form .. so much to live for :(

I really enjoyed your choice as well, she has such a beautiful voice .. I love the bands that just keep going for the love of the music and the fans that follow them to the ends of the earth, it's so refreshing in comparison to the transient nature of modern music. I will have to look into these guys some more, thank you for sharing!

I think the band broke up a long time ago, but Maggie has released several solo albums, some of them with a Celtic rock-type theme.

Alright! At first I thought this was this song.......

Oh yeah - that's another goody! They don't make em like that any more :)

I havent heard this song for so long. Since my Dad would have the radio station on to listen to the races and songs like this would be played inbetween races. ha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87