Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday6 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hey I hope everyone has enjoyed a good weekend! My choice this week is a cold little heart by Michael Kiwanuka, for once I'm simply going to let the song take you away and speak for itself. I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Cold little heart
Band: Michael Kiwanuka
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

I'm proud to be both a member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by the hard work of: @aggroed, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @ausbitbank,
discord channel: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Monday already! Man they come around quick.
So many times I've been close to posting this utter classic.
One of my favourite records of all time.............

Pink Floyd - Wish you were here.

Put on the headphones, lay back, close you're eyes and listen to this amazing track.....
Never, ever fails to move me my freind.

Words can't really convey the feelings that I have for this song, I have so much of my life wound up in this track and this band! They left a part of their soul on each one of these records and if you listen close enough it sings to you. I'm sure that Syd turned up whilst they were recording this album, thinking he was still the lead singer? A truly monumental masterpiece .. thank you for sharing @tremendospercy

So many times over the years when I was travelling this track came to my rescue.
All in all I don't think there has been or will ever be a more influential, emotive and talented group of musicians.
Their work is etched on my soul dude as I'm sure it is with many of our generation.

One of my favourites, and the album accompanied me on my travels in the mid-1990s. In Nepal, I used to go to a bar where a local duo sang a great version of this song every night. I've never seen this video though!

Haha, I can see it now 😂
I have witnessed some truly dreadful attempts by singers in that part of the world try to recreate classics by PinkFloyd, The Eagles, The Doors etc.
Ahh the memories just come screeching back 😃 We may well have been in the same bar at the same time somewhere holding our hands over our ears! 😂

I can just imagine 😂😂 In fact I stayed in a place called the Prince Hostel and one of the guys who worked there was an amazing Princevestite... the big hair, purple velvet gear, everything but the voice... but no, this duo really were good - great voices and simple good guitar playing!

Always look forward to this, have this oldie but Goldie. Big pharma anyone?

Brilliant choice my friend!! I love Big audio dynamite .. I saw them a few years back with Mick on the vocals and can honestly say they were still brilliant, I would love to catch them again!! Thank you for sharing this, it's another one to add to my playlist.

We it seems have very similar taste in music. :-) and in life attitude, I am guessing you are around my age 51?.

It sure seems that way my friend, I'm actually 44 so not far off lol

Ahhhhhhh Kiwanuka! He's so damn good!
I'll throw some RKS in the mix:

To be honest I'm not such a great fan of male singers (idk it's just like that), but after listening to some of their song on their bandcamp I have to admit that I really like it. The way they sing just has something unique and is in perfect harmony with their rhythmic play. Very cool. I think I have more to discover this week, thanks for that! :D

Thank you for this weeks choice @jakeybrown I really enjoyed it. Perfect music to close my eyes to and simply float away on it's dreamlike cushion of beautiful harmonies. In short great track dude!!

Loved this - thanks for sharing it :)

Good choice - I love Michael Kiwanuka.
This beautiful song is from a young band with a retro feel, folksy influences yet original, The Trembling Bells.

Thank you @natubat I have never heard this band before and I must say I loved this track. A beautiful retro, folk melody and a real joy to listen to. Excellent choice, thank you for enlightening me!

Glad you enjoyed it! One of their guitar players used to deliver my organic vegetables. Lovely guy. He's stopped doing it now, so hopefully he's making a full-time income from the band. I just love their music.

You are really good a choosing great voices - loved it. My choice is from a tortured talent, who left too soon :(

Great choice @ricia no thrills, no fancy light shows just Amy and her amazing voice .. stripped back, raw and showing everyone that she simply demands to be remembered! Excellent choice my friend, thank you for the music!!

Peace

Ah @onetruebrother .. Brian Eno a true pioneering musical genius! Not often you get to say those words in one sentence these days so I'll use them whilst I can. Another inspired and beautiful choice my friend. indeed the words on this song paint a picture worthy of the finest gallery. A perfect example of why I love #musicmonday!

Hallo Steemian's music lovers. This time I wanna share an awesome music, I think this song can give you the spirit in the day. This is Bon Jovi's song, "Have a Nice Day". Hopefully this song can be a reference list of your music this week.

Hey @rial17 Thank you for sharing this track my friend. A great choice and it set me up perfectly this morning!! Just what I needed and it put a spring in my step that lasted the day :D Thank you for the great music.

You're always welcome my friend @perceptualflaws have a nice day man! :)

Hey there, this was my Monday morning:) As Time Goes By:

Hey my friend, a great rendition and some fantastic guitar work going on there! You're very talented and I'm loving the blues styling you've brought to such a classic and well known song!! Excellent stuff @andrewmarkmusic and thank you for sharing, I really enjoyed this!!

Cheers! And Thanks:)

A thought-provoking and loving song both at the same time!
Peace - love - gratitude!

Brilliant lyrics I guess he picked up his dad's way with words - great choice!

And it's also his dad Birthday today.
Blaze one for the Bob :)

I certainly will :)

Hey @spellmaker great choice my friend, I really enjoyed listening to this. Great music backed up by some brilliantly inventive lyrics. Excellent stuff!! This has been a gift for my ears today, thank you for the music!!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! It was only last week that I discovered that song and I'm still hooked on it.

I got another one from Hed pe.

Hey dude, such a great track and equally one with an important message, these guys really new what was going on!! It's just such a shame that much modern music has been drawn into the machine. To me this is music that picks up on the hopes and fears of a generation, runs with it and gives people an outlet for their frustration. Excellent choice @venomnymous

Absolutely. This band was a big motivator for me on my journey of seeking truth. Plus it's good to rock out to lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54