Music Monday or Tune Tuesday? Sure Shot & African Starship - FEEL FREE TO DROP YOUR OWN TUNE

in #musicmonday5 years ago (edited)

Oh, I KNOW it's Tuesday, but we had a long weekend here in Melbourne due to Labour Day. Thus, last night posting my chicken post I actually thought it was Sunday. I guess I'll spend all week confused now! I always feel guilty for missing Music Monday, not least because @perceptualflaws and @likedeeler pop over to check... sorry lovelies!

image.png

Last week I heard a new tune by Lee Scratch Perry. The guy is what - 87? You can hear it in his voice. However, he's still got it - loved hearing this on the radio the other day! The guys a legend.

image.png

I saw Lee Scratch Perry at the Corner Hotel, Melbourne, about twenty years ago. He was awesome. I wasn't really into reggae at the time - Australia's not known for it in the same way New Zealand or England might be. I first heard of him on the Beastie Boys album 'Hello Nasty' that came out in '98, and Perry was touring so I thought I'd check him out. Then I moved to England and the whole world of reggae and dub exploded for me - a revelation.

So of course, that leads me to the Beastie Boys, which I have an incredible soft spot for. No one else I knew played them nor loved them in the way I loved them. Like really, really loved them. I cried when Yaulch died. Anyway, it's a nice segue and nod to INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY, y'all:

“I want to say a little something that’s long overdue/The disrespect to women has got to be through/To all the mothers and the sisters and the wives and the friends/I want to offer my love and respect to the end.”

So here's one of my other fave tunes, 'Sure Shot'.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhqyZeUlE8U

Like Ma Bell I got the ill communication

Ill Communication on vinyl - yep, I save that if my house was on fire. Definitely one of my fave '90's album. I was lucky enough to see them live twice - they were going to tour Australia but they were sick, so it was cancelled - then they came played anyway, at the Forum - a relatively small place and it was without all the big show - just them in casual clothes and being freaking amazing. Then the following year they came out for the Big Tour for Hello Nasty and it was HUGE. Honestly, both gigs went down as some of the best I'd ever been too, but for different reasons. I still get chills whenever I hear them.

Happy Monday (Tuesday) all.

What have you been listening to this week?



https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmU9f4FK9j91cnUGYk9hnMXuYdAFcnF6ekkpXZ5DfiByfG

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

Sort:  

Thanks for share, I love checking out these music Monday posts even if they come out on Tuesday!

Resteemed- Wow thanks I always love a good selection I toons - yeah Lee Scratch Perry at 87 wow bless him he is unstoppable- what an amazing life’s work he has created! 🍀🍀🦋🌈

Lovely tune! I longed to hear his voice in the tracks because I was thrilled to hear an aged voice of 87 on the mic 🎤

But unfortunately I didn’t hear his voice on that track.

I most also appreciate your love and respect for our women which you outlined at the later part of your post. No woman, no life!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for telling me!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6500 replies. Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94