A Sad Music Monday Post - The Prodigy

I usually don't get choked up about celebrity deaths, but I actually met this guy at a rave in the mid-'90s and will never forget how cool he was. It is with a heavy heart that I report, that Keith Flint, the frontman for The Prodigy has passed. I met him at a warehouse squat in a chill room. A friend and I were taking a break from dancing and recharging with some water and fruit. I can almost picture the neon psychedelic room in my head and hear the ambient down-tempo rhythms the DJ was spinning as we sipped our water and ate chunks of watermelon, pineapple, and oranges.

This wild looking guy walks up to our table and asks if he could join us saying he didn't know many people at the party. We immediately told him to sit down and neither of us knew who he was at the time. I even remember the conversation. The food and water at the party were free and we got into this wild discussion about how "it should be" and the social-political economics of feeding the world. We ended up in this wild discussion with this stranger for probably well over an hour.

The whole time I'm talking to this guy I'm thinking he looks familiar as hell, but I just can't place it. I even mention that in our conversation and he just sort of brushed it off saying, "Yeah I get that a lot." The next morning I'm talking to a friend on the phone and he says, "I seen you and Bumpy in the chill room, I didn't know you knew the guy from The Prodigy, how do you guys know him?"

I just shook my head as I shouted into the phone, "I knew it!" Then I explained to my friend how he just showed up at our table and we got into this wild and deep conversation. Anyway, that's my Keith Flint story. I didn't know him well, but met him briefly and in that short period of time he seemed like a genuinely great guy! He will be missed as both a musician and a great human being...

I'll leave you with a couple of my favorite tracks from The Prodigy.

Sort:  

I wasn't a big fan.. but that's far too young. I hope we are not going to have another 2016 when a load of them die again. That did suck.

That would suck a lot. After turning 50 I get really weirded out now when anyone my age passes. It always makes me question my own mortality.

Thanks for sharing that story.
I'm actually addicted to their "making of" videos as those are displaying his genius and sense much more than the actual videos.

Sounds cool, if you have a link I'd love to check that out!

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99