7-Day Wayback Music Challenge - 4th University Year and 2nd Period in the US


Jay-Z - Dirt Off Your Shoulder


@uwelang has nominated me for this challenge. It is the sixth day of the challenge for me.


Let the music play.

I will skip the first 4 years of my university, as I talked about my first year in the last post. I can say that it was a continuous fight for improvement and the first year was the worst. I lost my scholarship and the good money coming from it and was almost failing the first year. I recovered in the 2nd and 3rd year. I can say that in the 4th I was doing pretty well. I did some good money doing projects for other colleagues. For some classes, we had a projecting part where we had to do either a research, a model or a big calculus until the end of the semester. I found here a very good opportunity of making some cash. I teamed up with a colleague who was good at programming and we sold this projects. My partner made a program where we would have to input the data and in the end, we would have a different project written for our customers.

I decided that year to go to work in the US for the summer with work and travel. When I arrived there I quitted in the first week the job I had to do. I was supposed to work as a lifeguard. It was not worth to do it. I took two jibs one from 8 am to 6 pm in construction and a second from 7 pm till the open end in a restaurant as a waiter. On both jobs, I started low, like in construction from cleaning the construction site and climbed till managing jobs and doing paperwork. And all this in 5 months. I had to go home to finish my university. In the restaurant, I started waiting one table finishing with waiting parties alone. It was a glimpse of the American dream.

I choose this song as this was one I've listened in 2005 in the US. Jay-Z is one role model for me and a perfect story from rags to riches through hard work. He is the modern American dream. The song is coming to an end so I will draw a line here.

Thank you Uwe


I nominate @flipstar for this challenge as it is his day today, the #RapThursday.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (Was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

discord.gif

Sort:  

Can't wait to be nominated too :)

I am a hobby with music and I love the contest.thanks

I am a hobby with music and I love the contest.thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97