7-Day Wayback Music Challenge - Smooth - Santana ft Rob Thomas

@slobberchops nominated me for this challenge. I usually don't have the time to commit to daily challenges, but since it involves music, I am absolutely making an exception!

Here we are at day 5 of the contest and I have a feeling the next two days are going to be very hard. These first five have been pretty easy.

This song takes me back to college where I was sitting in a computer lab and was supposed to be coding in C++. I had heard about this crazy program on the fringes of the Internet called Napster though. It was really new and not a ton of people were using it yet.

It was supposed to be this great way to get songs in this new format called MP3. The compression was supposed to be ten times less than a standard .WAV while still maintaining decent sound quality.

Since the computers in the lab had an Internet connection faster than the dial-up I had at home, and they also had internal 100MB zip disk drives I decided to snag some songs in the lab.

This was the first MP3 I ever downloaded, so to me, it is very special.


I nominate @monajam for this challenge!

The rules:

Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
Mention one person who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

video source

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Napster, well that does bring back some memories. It was a pirate haven before Metallica closed it down, big news at the time. I thought it was gone but a quick check seems that it is back..

Cool song too, love Carlos Santana.. great guitar sound with that latin touch.

a very nice song to hear

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85