WAYBACK MUSIC MUSIC CHALLENGE #4 : How R & R should be done.

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

I saw these guys live in a very small club in1972 opening for Spirit, then had to rush out and get their album, "Crazed Hipsters." Good thing I did, cuz it is now considered a cult, collector's album. It's never been released on CD, so even the YouTube stuff comes off of LPs. Mike Finnegan plays keyboards/harmonica and does most of the vocals. Jerry Wood does some vocals and handles the guitar. Easily one of the top 5 bands I've ever seen live. Jerry "handling" the guitar: most guitarists grimace and growl at their guitars, but he would have a beautiful smile on his face like he was caressing it. The only info I can get on him is that he passed away very young.

And...if you've ever wondered how Rock & Roll should be done...well, this is it. It takes a tight band, each one having their own individual chops and kicking ass. This is a Bob Dylan song, which I haven't listened to how he does it, but....
Love the bass line, the fuzz tone on lead guitar, and Mike's vocals are always superb.
For many years, Mike Finnegan has been the keyboardist and backup vocalist for CS&N. Plus having his own blues bands.
This was their only album.

Bonus: If you want to hear how smokey, impassioned blues is done... here's Mike doing Ray Charles's "Hard Times"

Thanks to all of you for attending. whether anyone is listening or not, I gotta say, this is fun to do.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

At this point I'm nominating @craigcryptoking for a go at this.

Shout out to those I sucked in about this: @ablaze @irreverent-dan @bigskycustoms @mazzle

Sort:  

There’s you’re band no one has ever heard of! Lol. Nice write up, you went to a lot of cool concerts back in the day. Growing up in little town Montana that wasn’t something we really had an opportunity to do. I don’t think I went to a concert until my senior year of high school

Being a few years older than you - and just to brag - I was living in Seattle between freshman & sophomore in high school. My first concert was the Beatles on their last tour; then saw The Beach Boys; then saw The Mamas & Papas. My mom was very good about wanting me to get out and experiencing things. But shit, it was just a blur for me - it would have been cool to experience it better, but you know, damn kids. :-)) Who did you see on your first? Did you listen to Down In The Flood?

I saw Styx after when they were touring Crystal Ball, in late 1976, then the Doobie Bros later that same year. When I got to college I saw more but I lived on a farm way up north in middle of no-where Montana

Those would be two great bands to start out with. I'm getting to like smaller venues now. Better sound, not so much hassle. But I sure loved it then. Hey, Tab Benoit is coming to San Diego at a cool venue in October. See ya then. :-))

Nice! I’ve seen tab before, he’s good! Enjoy!
I started another 7 day challenge, posted tonight’s

You're spelling my name wrong :P

Well, I did, but now I'm not. :-)) Sorry.

Not a problem. :D

Done bruv thanks for the nomination ;)

Mike, after listening to the songs that you shared, I can't help but think that music was way better back in the day... Or you just have a good taste! :)

I'm not sure what happened... So much innovation then; less synthetic music; longer attention spans. I just don't know. Of course, there aren't the guitar gods we had. Blues is still a good place to go... people doing real music - my style. But I don't know if we'll see the likes of some of these again... Or, I could just be set in my tastes, although I so try to be open-minded.

Longer attention span - valid point! I think there's also another problem - marketing. Much of the music nowadays has been made for the masses and with profit in mind.

I agree. Studio tuning voices and other issues making it all more "palatable". I keep looking tho - and hope for tunes that stir my soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95