7-Day Wayback Music Challenge- LOVE SHACK, BABY

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

7-Day Wayback Music Challenge


I was nominated by @bozz, and you can see his post here.


Boblo_boat_-_panoramio.jpg

Image Source- Wikimedia Commons


Back in my high school my sort of best friend was a guy. He was one year ahead of me, kind of a loner like me, could always make me laugh and he accepted my nerdy ways. We were almost inseparable.

We went on a day trip to a local amusement park (island) southwest of Detroit that was located on an island in the Detroit River. To get to Boblo Island you had to take a boat- like the one pictured above. This hour long boat ride was probably the best part of the whole day.

They had a huge dance floor, a DJ, refreshments and tables on the first floor of the boats and one of my favorite songs at the time was the B-52's Love Shack and when the DJ played this song me and my best guy friend (who was also as shy as me) busted out onto the dance floor and twirled, danced and had the BEST time.

We lost contact my senior year of high school but 25 years later we reconnected. ANY time I hear...

The Love Shack is a little old place where
We can get together
Love Shack, baby

I am transported back to that afternoon on the Boblo Island boat...

My favorite line in the lyrics:

Lookin' for the love getaway
Headed for the love getaway, love getaway
I got me a car, it's as big as a whale
And we're headin' on down to the Love Shack
I got me a Chrysler, it seats about twenty
So hurry up and bring your jukebox money



Boblo Island history

I nominate @borrowedearth for this challenge!


The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Awe! What a beautiful memory ❤🌹❤
Glad to hear you have reconnected with your friend from high school. Thanks for sharing pieces of yourself @goldendawne 🎶🎵

nice choice, thats an old song.

Oh gee! Good memory. I'm not sure I could remember that far back!
I do remember, however, that I heard that song so often I dreaded hearing it. So while I love the story that went with it, I'll give relistening to it a miss. Lol!

good story, but not always alone, in high school is a time full of memories

What a fun challenge!!!! I accept... The 7 days might be rough but I'll give it a go!

Oooh! What to post first?

Sweet memories! Glad you could reconnect with your friend. 25 years is a long time to be unconnected...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86