7-Day Wayback Music Challenge (With SBD Contest)- Don't You Forget About Me

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

7-Day Wayback Music Challenge


I was nominated by @bozz, and you can see his post here.


Simple Minds - Don't You (Forget About Me)



Oh the memories this song brings back to me! I can remember being in in my junior year of high school; now before you start calculating the years and my age, I'll make it easy for you- I'll be the B-I-G 50 this September.

The movie had just hit the theaters (yes... way before live streaming we saw movies in a movie theater)!

It was a classic movie that I believe still hold true today. The characters are priceless; so much so that when my daughters watched this movie in the early to mid 2000's, they saw classmates of their own with the same labels.

I could so relate to the cast:

  • Anthony Michael Hall (Brian)- The brain
  • Emilio Estevez (Andrew)- The athlete
  • Ally Sheedy (Allison)- The basket case
  • Molly Ringwald (Claire)- The princess
  • Judd Nelson (John Bender)- The criminal

Of the five mentioned personalities or labels, I could associate myself with two of them. I was a nerd (library geek and bookworm)- so there is the brain. I was also the basket case to some degree; but only because I had VERY few friends and was a loner.

I can remember hearing this song on Casey Kasem's American Top 40 Countdown EVERY Sunday morning for weeks and weeks!

Being a loner and not-at-all popular in junior or senior high school, I could really relate to these two lines in the lyrics:

Will you recognize me?
Call my name or walk on by

From Brian's Essay- The Final Words In The Movie


Image Source

Fun Fact & SBD Giveaway


Two of my three kids have the names as the characters in the movie... coincidence? I think so...

Can you guess which two names?

I'll give the first person with the correct two names 1-sbd... take your best shot!

I nominate @hethur240 for this challenge!


The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Good initiative..

Oh I love this song! Though I don't think I had ever watched the music video before today!

I will guess Andrew and Allison as you kids names!

YOU ARE correct!!
Andrew is going to be 32
Allyson just turned 29 on Wednesday
and my youngest is Shelby who is 25

I just couldn't name her Claire- not too fond of that name

CONGRATULATIONS!!! Sending you your SBD now.

Haha, wow! I went with the "A" list and lucky me! This makes my day! What a good start to the weekend to jump on Steemit and win a contest!

Thank you so much! :-D

This might have me getting it wrong... but I will guess Allison and Claire. Since those are the character's names, not the actresses' names. I know someone already guessed the actresses' names.

I love hearing the story of what this means to you! It gives whole new meaning to me in listening to it.

Beautiful!
<3

I like how some songs will take you back in time and you can remember things so vividly at a time in your life.

Sorry... no to the names.

The 80's was the time when music was music and not just some screaming or some of the noise of today. I think kids today will look at the music of this time the same way in 30 years.
My guess for the kid's names is Anthony Michael Hall (Brian) and Emilio Estevez (Andrew).

It's weird because my son (who will be 32 this year) loves old country western music (Hank Williams Jr, Johnny Cash, etc) and my oldest daughter (who just turned 29 this week) prefers to listen to 80's stadium rock/hair bands and she LOVES AC/DC... my youngest daughter (who just turned 25 in January) listens to Katy Perry, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, etc) - I guess for their age groups they are old school

As for the names... nope.. sorry

I wonder if I could do this challenge.. stick with it I mean haha.
When I saw the title of this post I thought to myself "damn, I have forgotten about goldendawne for a long while..." so I'm sorry ♡
As to your kids names... hmm.. I'll just go with Ally and Molly haha. I have no clue lol.

lol- Yea I'm still here but we are all so BUSY right now... life, the garden and so much more!

As for the kids' names... incorrect- sorry!! (insert buzzer noise here)

Great song and a great movie. It still stands the test of time and influenced so many movies after. Hughes was the master of the 80's. The song is equally timeless. Simple Minds had so many great songs even though they were mostly defined by this one.

Oh yes!! Timeless in deed!
I could, and have been known, to watch this movie when it's on. I can repeat most of the lines and my husband just shakes his head and laughs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80