You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wayback music challenge: Day 6 - Tom Waits

First time I heard Tom Waits was on the Faroy Islands. I was working as a fisherman and rented a room in the Klaksvik youth hostel. There was a lot of Swedes, mostly girls, but Tom Waits was the favourite of the Swedish boy (or young men, we were all between 19 (me) and mid twenty).

Later when I lived in Florence with my wild girlfriend (my wife to be) she knew it all and was a Down by law fan. I really like his music - I always thought of him as a German lied-singer born in the wrong country. His phrasing, the show, the music.

Sort:  

I remember, that you had worked as a fisherman back in the days, but I didn't know, that you and your later wife lived in Florence once. Would love to know more about that times.

We made our final school trip to Florence and I thought about staying there and living as a street-artist, but I didn't have the guts to just bunk off.

Regarding the German kind of singing, I never thought about Tom Waits could be one of us. We barely have (and had) some cool guys like him. Maybe Udo Lindenberg would come close.

You did have cool guys, but he is special in this time and age for sure. When he made his sound that mixed blues into the old German cabaret style, Germans were doing other things like punk versions of the same... Nina Hagen for example. She is also quite a character.

Didn't know Udo Lindenberg - there is so many names in German music that I don't know I realize - he is classic German singing. I still try to get my head around the film you wrote about in the last post, do you know any place where you can see it on the internet. It sounds very interesting.

Yes, Nina Hagen is really a one-of-a-kind character and she mixed classic singing with punk. Most remarkable is probably her remake of Zarah Leander.

I did a research about legal streaming of "Step across the border" but unfortunately neither couldn't find a source. I guess, it once aired at mubi, but they only play 30 independent movies at a time.

If you're able to watch DVDs, you won't regret buying a copy or maybe you could check, if they incidentally play the movie in an arthouse cinema near you.

I suppose I will have to find the DVD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91