7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 5 - Reamonn, Supergirl

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Time goes so fast! I already got to day 5th of this super cool challenge by @dimitrisp. This "blast from the past" challenge is so so exciting! 

Well, my pick for today is...

Whoo! What can I say about this song? That it speaks of high school? Moody days? A prince charming that never came? A bit of loneliness? All of these and so much more? It's just another track on my all-time-favorites list. It was a big radio hit when it was first released, but I can still listen to it and let my mind fly along with the lyrics, because Supergirls just fly...

In case you don't know it, there is also a beautiful version that got out a few years ago:

Still, not like the original, but perfect for chilling time or car trips.

And then she'd say:
"It's OK, I got lost on the way
But I'm a super girl
And super girls don't cry"
And then she'd say:
"It's alright, I got home
Late last night
But I'm a super girl
And super girls just fly". 

So, let's just fly...

@erodedthoughts, @imaginedragon and @samminator? What do you say? Are you interested in taking part? 😊

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Thank you @dimitrisp and @hellene8 for the nomination! 😊

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

My high school days were so long ago that I don't think that there was recorded music back then, LOL! (For sure there weren't hand held calculators and we had to do all our math long hand!)

But I did see a few live performances while I was in high school (such as the Beatles, the Who, Jimi Hendrix, Jefferson Airplane, etc.)

However some of the finest music I heard during my high school years was in such places as coffee houses and high school gyms in Toronto and a cave in Crete. No recordings will ever exist of such experiences. I can only hope that they have added to the forming of my soul.

Who did you hear in the Cretan cave??

I heard an anonymous traveler play "Train Time" on a mouth harp. The echoes of the cave made it haunting and mesmerizing beyond belief!

I’m not familiar with that song... I found this. Harmonica sounding instrument being played.

And now listening on Spotify. Sweet. You should def do the way back music challenge. This song is awesome.
49C3F78A-A712-4589-AAE6-DC21A55BA436.png

Didn't you have an abacus back then? :P

Those memories are precious and sometimes carve us deeper than we think. Like the stories we hear from our grandfathers, we always say that one day we'll write them down or record them on our phone but never do (and then these people are gone).

No abacus. But I had my fingers and toes :-)

I liked the female version for some reason, peaceful melo stuff

I like that music when it's chill time😊

you are the supergirl ! ;) , i like this song too

Oooh! Now I'm blushing! ^_^

❤️ Yup, Supergirls just fly... :)
I used to be able to sing this quite well! (Then again, it's an easy song for singing.)

It is quite an easy song... And now I'm thinking... should we start a karaoke challenge? 🤣

lol! Not just yet.... I already have to stretch out this one challenge, against my will too! :P
There will be time for singing! :)

Maybe I'll give it a try. You know I can't tell you "no". I could begin on Wednesday. At least, it will give me enough time to think of a song to drop.
I hope I'll find the local songs I used to listen online :)

Thanks for the nomination, Ruth

Oooh! Great @samminator! Let's see what was on your playlist back then! ;)

I love this song too!!!
Great choice supergirl - @ruth girl!!😘

Hehehe! I'm picturing myself flying in a cape with the Steemit logo on 🤣🤣🤣💖💖💖

Hahaha!!! (it's not a bad idea....)🤣💗💗💗

So, samminator got in eventually. I'll go check what he used to listen to back then...

But sincerely, I prefer the second video to the first. I don't know why though..

Yes he did!

I'm guessing it has something to do with the pretty girls in the second video? :P
Or is it the music you like more?

Pretty girls...🙈🙈🙈 I think it's the music.. Lol

😜😜😜

No moody playlist is complete without this one. Kudos, you have great taste!

Yeeeah! Tonight was also a hit! Thank you @snarksnark! :)

I'm enjoying this challenge more than anything on STEEM recently; so glad I broke the rules and jumped on it without being nominated by you @ruth-girl :)

It is a fun challenge admittedly! :)

A very lovely track of choice for today @ruth-girl ........Supergirl. The melody is on point and the tempo is sooting too.
Btw, I wonder who is more formidable though between Supergirl and Ruth-girl
Come to think of it, if all ladies were Supergirls, i wonder what the world would be like.

Hehe! I don't know which one either @rickie...

Imagine all the ladies being Supergirls and all the men Supermen. How loud would little love fights be? :P

Lolz.....So so loud and devastating, I bet. @ruth-girl, I can't even begin to imagine how the world would suffer from such love fights....😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83