🎼 7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 2 - Chuck Berry

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

On day one I gave a little intro about where I came from and what music I listened to:
7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 1 - Rock - Twist - Blues

ROLL OVER BEETHOVEN

I was 12 years old when this song was recorded, but only some time later I became aware of it, and it quickly became my favorite! I remember well the dances I went to a few years after "my favorite song" came out, and Chuck Berry often opened and closed the evening. Searching YouTube I find several versions, but just from my memory, I believe that this one here is close, if not the original recording Roll Over Beethoven - it was posted without listing the credentials. It only has a cover on it, so I decided to embed a later version from 1972, a live recording at the BBC Television Theatre, London on Wednesday 29th March 1972, because I think his showmanship and stage presence is something else to behold.

Wikipedia says: "Roll Over Beethoven" is a 1956 hit single written by Chuck Berry, originally released on Chess Records. It was in the various youth clubs from our Trade Union in Vienna where I first fell in love (puppy love), and while dancing like a dervish, I also looked toward the end when Chuck Berry would close with Goodnight Well It's Time to Go (listen to it to understand the rest of this sentence)........ dancing slow and tight, with shivers running down my spine....... I adored my ash-blonde girl with the beehive hairdo, and later we would tie the knot, perhaps too soon, because it lasted all but one year. C'est la vie.

But never mind all that, lets rock:

ROLL OVER BEETHOVEN by CHUCK BERRY


.... funny ending - mentioning the Beatles ......

I had a collection of singles I treasured at that time, and this was one - I never had much money to buy albums until later.

I hope you share my enthusiasm for this pioneer of Rock and Roll whom the Beatles looked to for inspiration in their early years.



Today, I nominate @vieanna and @tarotbyfergus


The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Thank you for the nomination @anibas !



visitmywebsite-small200.gif


Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna
I post many of my blogs under the tag #steemit-austria

Sort:  

Lieber @thermoplastic, vielen Dank für die Nominierung.

Ich bitte um Verständnis, wenn ich bei dieser Challenge nicht mitmachen werde.

Ich schreibe derzeit zwei bis drei Artikel in der Woche und dafür nehme ich mir ausreichend Zeit. Jeden Tag etwas veröffentlichen zu müssen, würde mich zu sehr unter Druck setzen. Außerdem kann ich mich ganz allgemein nicht mit vorgegebenen Regeln für das Schreiben eines Beitrages anfreunden.

Um die Challenge am Leben zu erhalten, bitte ich dich, eine andere Person zu nominieren. Danke.

Ja natürlich - kein Problem, danke für die Rückmeldung. Es gibt sowieso viele Beiträge in dieser Kategorie. Da ist sowieso genug "Leben" in dieser Challenge. Es ist auch zeitig genug das zu ändern. Aber ich freu mich schon auf Deinen nächsten tiefschürfenden Beiträge über Wiens Museen.

Cool! Ich versuche ein post in den nächsten Tagen zu machen, heute war unmöglich :-/

Kann ich mir vorstellen, keine Eile, diese Challenge existiert schon für einige Zeit. Selber werde ich wahrscheinlich auch nicht jeden Tag was einstellen können.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86