7-Day Wayback Music Challenge - Over the Hills and Far Away

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to day 3
Song: Over the Hills and Far Away

from Finish symphonic metal band Nightwish


Thank you @backinblackdevil for nominating!
I just saw that @calisay also nominated us 3 weeks ago, right during our inactive time.
Dude, we're really sorry to have not seen that!


Nightwish was the first band in the metal area that awoke my interest in this genre. Especially this song Over the Hills and Far Away inspired me to buy a double bass pedal for my drumset and it was the first song I played with double bass. It's a good one to start with and learn it because it's a slow and constant beat with help from your right hand playing on the toms. I think I was at the age around 12 or 13.
It was not the first song i knew from Nightwish. The first one was "Ghost love Scores" on a CD the big brother of a friend made for us but I have not known the bands name until I found Over the Hills and Far Away - totally happy! From then on I was a big fan of Nightwish, visited the next concert with my parents (you know i was to young to go by myself) and learned their songs on the drums. My good friend during that time just started learning guitar and learned to play Over the Hills and Far Away too. We played it together on a sport event in our hometown, my mother played the piano. Except of my mother, we weren't really good and it did not met the general music taste at that event but we had fun and it's a great memory!

One more detail: i haven't know that the song of Nightwish is a cover from the original song of Gary Moore from 1987 for a very long time. Although i like the Nightwish-version better I have to say, respect to Gary Moore for creating such a great melody and song!


This was it for the third day - thank you for reading!
I nominate @mahyardean


The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (Was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

Stay tuned!
@twolittlebirds

Sort:  

aw, its really strong thing! but Nightwish without Tayja - it isnt Nightwish, in my holly opinion!

I was not very happy with Anette Olzon as replacement but with Floor Jansen now they did a very good deal I think :) But you're right it's not that "opera metal" anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55