Sort:  

The Ninjamine is actually the main issue for me why investors are afraid to seek opportunities with Steem.

While it is there and cannot be "undone", I love to see them following @teamsteem's proposition - Time lock their Steems. It doesn't matter if they upvote or not, as long as their using the money for a great purpose - the community will understand.

Laying off 70% of the team and promising the complete utilization of SMT on March 2019 is a complete mess now. I just don't know what happens in the future. As a believer of Steem, I'm afraid we're on the wrong track now.

Hey, @jlordc.

Well, thanks to the Ned's livestream, we now no a little more about what happened, who's still around and at least a decent idea of where Steemit is headed, and for the most part, it looks like where they've been headed—working on the blockchain, not working on their UI.

So, who knows what those 70% were doing. Ned did say that the same core blockchain engineers that were there two weeks ago are still there now.

So, we'll see. I agree, though, it's definitely disconcerting. I guess we'll see more of what's happening in the coming days and weeks. Always waiting to see when the next shoe is going to drop.

I would say the amount of money they've had and gone through is very troubling, @anonsteve, so I agree with you. It makes me wonder just what people were doing and whether or not they were moving the company vision forward, or finding ways to change it or slow it down. Who knows why anyone would want to do that, but as you mentioned, easy money has a way of distorting reality.

Ned's livestream today did answer some questions, but then created quite a few others, including just what has been his role in all of this if the company was heading off in directions he didn't want it to go in. He's in charge. Why wasn't it going the way he wanted it to? Who else was making decisions? Why was he letting things get added on that he didn't want in the first place?

Sounds like scope creep to me. They need someone with serious project management skills. I wonder how much the new CFO guy had to do with this. He probably saw the books and started pulling his hair out. :)

Thanks for your take on this, @jassennessaj.

Having watched nearly all of Ned's livestream today, I've been kind of shaking my head more. I have nothing to do with Steemit or their inner workings, but I have ran a business, and on the face of it, it looked like they were trying to be all things to all people, when really, they couldn't and shouldn't be all things.

According to Ned, they drifted from their central mission—global adoption of a cryptocurrency, and making the best blockchain. Which, on the surface, seems odd, since Steemit the dApp is hardly a next gen, cutting edge interface. So what were all those other employees doing if they weren't working on the blockchain?

At any rate, it leaves me wondering at it all, even if the impact on STEEM itself proves to be negligible.

After the last hard fork and how that went down, and how it's still affecting people with low RCs, I had to wonder what was going on, @frames. Something just hasn't been right.

I can see this layoff and refocusing on costs and mission being the best thing that could have happened to Steemit Inc., but things like this shouldn't really happen in the first place. At least, not to the degree that it did, and still not manage to deliver on times, and now put in jeopardy the delivery of SMTs.

I do believe the price of STEEM will rise again, along with the broader market, I'm just hoping that it won't become business as usual if it does.

I am not taking part on any side what actually happened is that the immigrants stormed into the US through a fence. I saw the video, I live in Mexico so as you can imagine it is all over the news. I believe it is a tough call either way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62