My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Electrical installation and repairs, Playing football, drawing, story writing, music, articles and poem.

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180324_183649_477.jpg

This is my entry for the "My 2018 - This is My Hobby Contest". I know a lot of people on this platform is looking forward to knowing my hobby. Well, that is the reason for this contest in which I will be talking on my passion, why I have it and what drives it. You can find the link to the contest. here I hope you resteem the contest so that more steemians could join.

I have many hobbies; playing football, story writing, music, articles and poem. It was so easy for me switching from one to the other.

I was five years old when I started drawing. Back then, I would call onto my older brother and challenge him to know who the best is. It was so much of a passion as I derive great joy in expressing myself with various work of art, painting inclusive. Sometimes I would just pick a textbook and draw portraits. One of the portraits I drew at such a tender age was that of Jesus; nailed hands and toes to the cross. It wasn't a perfect drawing but at least the figures were well represented. I posted one of my childhood drawing some months back. Here it is;

image

image

How I wish I could show it all on this great platform. Well, no need crying over spilled milk.

Here is my recent drawing;

image

The only drive I had for drawing at such tender age was prestige and recognition. I received shower of praises from family, friends, neighbours and even my class teacher for my drawing ability. At age eleven, I started out as a footballer. I would play for several hours non stop and my parents feared it was affecting my academics adversely. I grew up in a neighbourhood where playing football was fun. I was always appointed the captain of my team because of my dribbling skill. I was perhaps their best player but I had a flaw; I could play excellently but I'm definitely not good at being a goal keeper.

I know this as a limitation and because I detest humiliation, I would do my best to refrain from being selected as a goal keeper. I had football role model of different kinds but my most preferred is Cristiano Rinaldo (Cr7) right from the time when he started out in Manchester United. He was my inspiration then and would still have been if I hadn't stop playing football not long ago. I was mostly fascinated by his commitment, method of dribbling, goal sense and accuracy, he is undoubtedly an astonishing player. I played so well even on street that I was said to have played like him countless times.

My passion was so much for football such that I defiled my parents in absentia many times as regards leaving the house to join my peers in playing football. Even when they were around, I would sneek out of the house to satisfy my urge. Even at that, I'm a lover of reading story books, novels and educative contents. I also write short stories a lot and my only limitation sometimes is time. I used to have plenty of time when I was much younger and it diminishes as I advance in age.

Right from my childhood days, many believed that those talents of mine would fit perfectly for an Art class and they waited earnestly to see it manifest as a whole. It wasn't long after when I started developing passion for fixing electrical gadgets at a tender age after which I joined Science class as the thought of becoming an Electrical Engineer filled my head. Most people are often surprised at my ability while some chose to believe that I learnt it from someone perhaps. But the truth is I didn’t, it was all natural. I was so much inquisitive about science that I stopped drawing and playing football almost immediately to learn and be the best. My inspiration was the story told about the great inventors like Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison etc and their inventions. I was a science student until I finished my high school education.

I started singing songs almost as soon as I began to speak and with passing time, I develop passion for it. This is a part of me I am yet to bring to the steemit community and i sincerely hope it would be more sooner than later. I love singing and listening to music, it is also one of my hobby that I enjoy doing without jeopardizing others; For example, I could draw and yet be listening to music and singing a song etc.

I was Oportuned to come across a song on one of my favourite television series “teenwolf’’ in its fifth season, played at the very end. The song “fight till the end” by “jack savoretti” was one of my favourite song and I chose the song because it motivates, inspires me never to give up and it reminds me constantly that losing is not an option,” to those that have heard the song before, you probably know what I’m talking about. Pertaining to music, emotion drives me the most. I love music that reaches out to the soul rather than noices in the name of listening to music. There are music that I love listening to and also singing that elevates my spirit. We all know we have our ups and down, so I listen to music such as; Conqueror- jussie smollet ft estella, powerful- alicia keys ft Jussie smollet etc.

Apart from music, I also love writing articles most especially on the happenings around us; Such as the issue of the slave trade in Libya. I was so touch that I wrote an article on it for the Bleeding Pen website around late November and early December last year (2017). I would have posted it on steemit but I love to post new and original contents.

I started writing poetry around August 2017. Though, I have the passion but I couldn't bring myself to start writing poetry until then. I so much love writing poetry as it helps me to express my feelings and it liberates. I could write non stop and I was even in the midst of a poetry contest for the Bleeding Pen website before I heard of steemit, it has since been a wonderful and bitter experience. As I said earlier, life is full of ups and down but I would rather stand tall than live on my knees.

Here are some of my poetry;

TWO VOICE ONE SONG
The marriage bell sound ding dong,
Song of two heart that beat as one,
voices of two blended in one song,
Orchestra as they grace the occassion,
What a marriage ceremony in session,
As they all gathered for a happy union.

As they walk the aisle in laughter,
Unbreakable a bond! none can put asunder,
Great is the day you found your life partner,
Someone worth sharing your days with,
Cool like that of the early morning breeze,
The compatible pair that fits.

© by @aduragbemi


TWISTED FATE
Sun now gives darkness its light,
Day and night are now compatible,
Even snails walk millions of miles,
Bringing shame to the word "impossible".
Living in this alternate reality,
Where things aren't what they seem.

The moon shines in broad daylight,
Stars now weary of the dark sky,
Foolishness is let off hook,
Profiting only ignorants and fools.
Comforts are traded for pain,
Hopes of the wise are gory slained,
Wisdom held in stasis,
Even the sun now set in the east.

Freedom has gone rogue,
Captivity is the order of the day,
All there is, is lustful love
How suddenly everything changed,
Even the dead refuses to die,
Resurrected as zombies, killing to survive.

No such thing as eclipses,
For the sun was never in the moon's shadow,
Both were married couples on sworned oat,
Confusion is the master of ceremony.
Whence then, is the loop hole
To escape this questionable reality?

© by @aduragbemi


As I joined steemit, I developed passion for blogging and I say it is one hell of an experience. I meet new people, wonderful people of great minds, extraordinary talents, interacts with motivators, finding people of like passion etc. Ever since I joined steemit, I was able to ignite those lost passion; I now write short stories, motivational articles, poetry and making sketches and drawing objects of imagination. Thanks to steemit for igniting the dying fire in me. I now play football, fix electrical gadget and I'm able to do household wiring as I finished my entrepreneurship training some months back.

So I have several hobbies I partake in almost everyday. I have those I do online and those I do offline. Well, it is such an honour sharing my hobbies with people of this wonderful platform. You can visit my blog to see more of it; My blog

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Aduragbemi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75