Good Riddance: The One Word I’d Ban Forever and Why It Needs to Go

in #mybloglast year

I try to be careful with my words as a mom. I want to set a positive example for my kids, and I know my words can shape their worldview. Yet, there is one word I hear much too frequently, giving me the willies each time. That word is “hate.”

One Word I'd Ban Forever.jpg

“Hate.” is the word I would forever ban from using in all contexts. Although my opinion may seem extreme, I believe this one word has much destructive power. Here’s why.

To begin with, “hate” is a reasonably powerful word. When we say we hate something or someone, we express a deep and intense dislike. It’s a word that’s frequently connected to oppression and brutality. We devalue this word and make it sound like a common noun by using it carelessly. But the word “hate” should never be used around carelessly.

Second, “hate” is frequently employed as a verb to silence people. To state that we “hate” something expresses our unwillingness to interact with it. We are not open to learning more about it or considering different perspectives. This can be particularly damaging in conversations about social issues. By dismissing someone’s point of view by declaring our hatred for them or what they believe in, we end the dialogue and all chance of advancement.

Finally, the word “hate” is frequently employed to sow seeds of doubt and discord. We are painting persons or groups of people with extensive brush when we use this word to describe them. We’re saying they’re all the same and deserve our hatred. Thinking along these lines can result in prejudice, hostility, and even discrimination.

What word should we use in its place, then? I believe we should use more specific and less harsh words. We can disagree with something or state that we don’t like it instead of expressing our hatred. We can express our dislike without resorting to the kind of language that shuts down conversation and creates division.

Naturally, there will inevitably be occasions when we experience significant unpleasant feelings. We will all have angry, annoyed, or even indignant moments. It’s critical to choose our words wisely in these circumstances. Anger and frustration are more appropriate emotions than hatred when describing our reaction to something. These words are still strong but are also more specific and less likely to create fear and division.

Finally, “hate” should be used cautiously. I want to encourage my kids to use words that promote understanding and compassion. We can establish a society where communication is free and fruitful and where we can cooperate to shape a better future by eliminating the term “hate” from our lexicon. So let’s say good riddance to “hate” and embrace words that promote unity and understanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56