You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wildlands Conservancy pt.5: Mission Creek Preserve #mycalifornia

in #mycalifornia5 years ago

Here comes just another one of your CA adventures with great photos!

desert in the rain.

Interesting. I was not expecting a desert to be as colorful as those on your photo in spite of the rain. Most deserts are arid and looks barren. Your desert is different somehow. Life comes out when rain comes down. 😊

That table and chair on the fifth photo, I would love to have them! 😃 And the Stonehouse look lovely. I think it will be very cool to stay there at least for an overnight. 😊

Sort:  

Yay, nice to see you again! Even the brush that has gone dormant is painted with the colors of the sunset. Now that I figured out how to reserve the Stonehouse, I will definitely be bringing some campers over there for a few nights of glory!

Is the Stonehouse being maintained by anyone? I wonder if anyone stays in the middle of desert like that?

Yes, The Wildlands Conservancy maintains this Preserve, and you can email them to stay. I think people who are thru hiking the Pacific Crest Trail do stay here from time to time, or they camp at the adjacent Preserve, Whitewater. :)

That is good to have those options of accommodation in the middle of a desert. Others I read about just camp for the night with a tent and it does not sound safe for me.

I can relate to your fears. I prefer a good tent that zips cleanly and has secure anti creepy crawly mesh all over. With that, I am fine. What about where you live, isn't it very tropical with huge beetles and whatnot in the wildlands? It is super interesting to make your acquaintance and share camping lore!

Except for my citizen army training in high school, I did not really have experience of camping overnight in the real sense of it. I just happened to have been born in a mountainous area of the country where I also grew up so being one with nature is always appealing to me. While I have been out in the forests so many times, being out it a wide dessert like that feels different.

Yes, I think sharing camping lore will be a great idea! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77