Pop Up Adventure #1 - Altadena to San Gabriel

in #mycalifornia4 years ago

This week, my first Pop Up Adventure was a trek to my Cardiologist in San Gabriel, California. I have a love/hate relationship with Public Transit. I appreciate that it exists because it's an environmentally friendly way to get around town, but because I live in Altadena, the bus only shows up once an hour.

The total commute from my home to my Cardiologist is less than 15 miles, yet it takes me 2 hours round trip to get there....each way. Rather than complain about not having my own vehicle, I've decided to make some tasty lemonade and document my travels.

1.jpg

Phase I - I started my journey by catching the Metro Bus in front of a Jack-In-The-Box in Altadena. Is it me or do most of the bus stops in Los Angeles sit in front of a JIB or Yoshinoya? Never ceases to amaze me. It's actually pretty smart to generate some extra foot traffic. Going "down the hill" is an expression that we have in Altadena for travelling up and down Lake Avenue. This particular instance has me headed south to Colorado Boulevard.

2a.jpg

Phase II - This was the coolest part of the trip, as the entire Metro Bus fleet is paying tribute to Kobe Bryant with a poignant message on their bus signs. The entire city has been somber, since we got the news and things have seemed just a little bit colder. Seeing this sign actually lifted my spirits and made me appreciate their gesture more.

2.jpg

Phase III - This part of the trip was uneventful, as I made it to my Cardiologist appointment to get my defibrillator checked out. After waiting for 2 hours, I walked over to a CVS Pharmacy (next to the 168 Market on New & Valley in Alhambra) and purchased a Diet Peach Snapple for the trek back. I'm already 4 hours into this trek and I still have 2 more to go. After my purchase, I walked over to the Metro 76 stop and headed back.

3.jpg
4.jpg

Phase IV - To get to San Gabriel, the bus takes me through Pasadena, San Marino and Alhambra. The next connection is at, yet another, Jack-In-The-Box in Alhambra. Along the way, I saw an intersting city monument with a "mini" park that had some shrubs, flowers and overlooked the mountains. From there, I walked over to the bus bench and hung out for 45 minutes, waiting for my connection.

There wasn't anything interesting worth taking a picture of, along the "heel toe express" during the last leg of the trip. All in all, I ended up walking 2.5 miles and traveling close to 6 hours. When I can't afford to take a Lyft or Uber, public transit is my last resort. I could have saved 4 hours of time, but it would have cost me $45 round trip. Time wasn't of the essence, so I decided to go exploring and see what this town could give me. I've had worse pop up adventures, I've had better. The highlight was that it was a sunny day.

Sort:  

The scenery is great. I left LA 4 months ago for Florida. So this was great to see. Have a !BEER


Hey @zingali, here is a little bit of BEER from @cflclosers for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Hi zingali,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Woah. Thanks @curie !

Congratulations @zingali! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I think you never know what you have until you lose it. Possibly there must be many interesting things on the route but you haven't discovered them yet.
Walk, get on the bus, look at people, look at the shadows of the street, look at the sky (is it always the same?). Regards @zingali

Yeah. This was my first time getting used to the route. My goal is to try new paths each time I go, which is every few months. Alhambra & San Gabriel are a treasure trove of food places and my @altadenafoodie blog will feature different places I eat at. Yeah, it doesn't rain too often here, so the sky looks like that. We get clouds and Santa Ana winds and once in awhile, it rains. Thanks for the reply.

Congratulations @zingali, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Congratulations @zingali! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71