Creating and Recreating Fishing Memories

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

I have been fishing this lake here in Oregon since I was 8 or 9 years old, maybe younger. It was shortly after we moved to Oregon from Arizona that we began fishing here. Every spring, my dad would take us fishing here and we would catch dozens of fish.

I remember our first successful fishing trip to this lake. My dad had taken us camping the night before next to a small river. We camped and fished the river. Someone had suggested we use canned corn for bait in the river so I made sure we had some with us when we packed up our gear. I was always so excited to go camping and fishing that I often took it upon myself to get our fishing poles and other gear ready.

We gave the corn a try in the river but I don't remember having any luck. We were very bummed out. The river was so beautiful that I just couldn't believe it wasn't full of hungry rainbow trout.

The next day we decided to try our luck at this lake. We ended up at a spot by a bridge in one of the upper arms. We fished for a while with some other bait (I can't remember what) without any luck and then we decided to try that canned corn. Might as well, right?

We put three or four kernels on a hook under a bobber and cast it out and let it sit there until it floated back to shore. We started getting lots of bites and catching fish! So, we continued to use that method for a long time thereafter. We'd even take a small handful of the corn and pop into our mouths occasionally. I don't know why but it tasted so good and took the edge off my hunger so I could focus on fishing.

Usually we would catch rainbow trout on the corn. Sometimes we would put some salmon eggs on the hook and catch rainbows or even kokanee (landlocked sockeye salmon). The kokanee were bright silver and about the same size as the rainbows but were even more pink-meated than the trout.

Last Saturday, my boys and I made this year's first trip to this special lake. We caught five rainbow trout, including what I believe to be one of the biggest trout we have ever hauled out of lake (not including The One That Got Away!) That's another story.

We used PowerBait with size 18 treble hooks and 2-3 split shot about 24 - 36 inches up the line from the hook. This causes the PowerBait to float up off the bottom right in the zone where the fish cruise looking for something to eat.

I haven't used corn here for a long time now but have been itching to go back to that same spot by the bridge and give it a try.

@bbrewer with his catch of the day.jpg
Here I am with my catch. A smallish rainbow trout. I was quite happy with it. Actually, it is about regular-sized for this lake. I had my older son film me as I reeled it in. Maybe I can upload that video in a separate post.

The boys with the biggest catch of the day.png
Here are the boys with the biggest fish of the day. Actually this is possibly the biggest fish we have ever pulled out of this lake. It measured 13 and a half inches and was quite fat!

My younger son was having a hard time reeling in the fish with that green bait-casting rod and reel. But we got it in the net.
Brayden with his biggest fish to date.png
My younger son with his trophy. You can tell he hates fishing. Haha ;)

Two Rainbow Trout in Cooler.png
The first two fish, side by side, for comparison. The smaller one is about the normal size for the lake.

Fishing Rod.png
The stumps around the lake are quite interesting to behold, with their long roots exposed from years of erosion. I will share more pictures of them in another post. I liked the moss on this one and it made a decent rod holder. Should have laid the fish down in the mud next to the fishing rod. That would have made a decent shot. Just use your imagination and pretend those bright silver torpedoes are there.

The Boys.png
Here are my handsome boys again, enjoying their time a the lake. It was a decent day weather wise and everyone enjoyed it.

The Three of Us.png
And here we are, all together in a mandatory fisherman's selfie.

I have lots of fond memories fishing at this lake with my dad and brothers. Sometimes even mom and a sister or two would come along (we are a big family).

I remember seeing ospreys come down and catch their own fish. We'd head home smelling like salmon eggs. Often we would stop at the A&W and get a burger, fries and a root beer float. Then, after eating the food, we'd fall asleep on the ride home.

Often times it was just me and dad cleaning all the fish. I didn't mind. I felt pride in being able to efficiently process the fish.

My boys enjoy helping me clean the fish. I know, it might seem strange but they do. Especially the younger one. He talks us both through the whole process, asking questions as we go. I enjoy imparting a little knowledge to him in the process.

Growing up, we always battered and fried our fish. And that is how I still prepare them today with help from my boys. Yes, they even enjoy helping me cook them.

Last summer we had lots of fish as a result of many successful outings. So, we would freeze them and pull them out to thaw and fry up on a Sunday afternoon when we got a hankering for some fish.

I am sure these memories will be precious for them as they are for me and the memories I have with my dad and brothers. All this adds up to a great feeling of nostalgia which makes returning to this lake even more special.

It makes me wonder if my boys will fish with their children at the same lake some day. I sure hope so. In fact, I hope to be around to fish with them. Now that would make a fisherman happy - to fish with his children and grandchildren at the lake where he fished with his father.

We plan to head out and do it all again tomorrow, so I am going to wrap up this post. Hope you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by.

If you did enjoy this post, please follow @myhuntingfishing. There's lots of great content here. And please consider making your next hunting, fishing, firearms or other outdoor post with the #myhuntingfishing tag.

Tight lines!

Sort:  

Looks like it was a nice day!
It is always a great day when you're out making memories with the kiddos :)

Yes it was! Thank you. I hope all is well with you and your family. We are going to head out again in a bit. It's a lazy Saturday morning for me. Slept in. :)

your son seems so happy with the catch... lovely photos and glad you had a great outing...

Thank you! Yes, he was very excited. He loves fishing.

beautiful relationship bring your child fishing, I will also bring my child later, his age is now still 1 year 😂, maybe 7 more years I will bring him 😂

That's awesome! He will be fortunate to go fishing with you. I hope we are both still on Steemit so I can see your fishing posts with your son. :)

😄😄😄, you are very friendly friend. I am sure we will remain in steemit, hope that day will come true ... to say my greetings to your family.

Sounds good, my friend. Greetings to your family as well!

😄👍👍

Ah, memories of fishing with your dad, and now memories fishing with your sons.

You're making me think I should go get a pole and come out with you or something. You know the wife likes eating fish. The rest of us, depends on what it is, though Salmon is generally a good bet.

Hope you were able to get out today and have more success.

Hey, you are welcome any time! Get your fishing license and we'll go. Fishing pole optional. You can use one of ours. This is the time of year to go. We did get out to the lake today and did very well. ;)

Nice. So, this is the best time? Because the fish are jumping, not so much angler competition, or both?

Well, I'm glad you got out again. I'll think about the license deal (keep forgetting stuff like that needs to happen), and I may still have a pole around here. I think they may have all been done away with in the last purge, though. If so, I'll take you up on the offer. :)

The fish are jumpin. Very little competition with other fishermen.

Aha! Perfect combo.

Hey, and congrats on hitting the OCD trail! You're actually at the top of today's list. Woo to the hoo!

Thanks! I am pretty happy about that!

Great post as usual, looks like an awesome day. Your sons have a knack for catching bigger fish than you. If I have kids I would like to do what you do and take them where my father brought me up.

On a side note my clean ups are wrapped up and I feel like I will have the energy to read posts and make them. I'm sorry I disappeared for a bit but every now and then I will need to take those breaks. Life can be overwhelming.

Tight lines, I hope you do good on your next session, and I hope the video works out.

No worries! I need to take a break sometimes too. Thank you!

Great times! Thanks for sharing. Memories for a lifetime right there!

  • You'll only find one thing funner than taking your kids fishing...
    Taking your grandkids fishing!

Can't wait! Well, I can because my older son of just 14 years old! But it will be great.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 86 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75