Got Off Work Early - Went Fishing

I have been fishing 4 of the last 6 days. It has eaten into my spare time that is normally consumed on Steemit. But that's okay. Got to keep a balance!

The fishing has been pretty good. I will start off with pictures from my Friday afternoon trip to the local pond.

I was sitting at work Friday morning and I just didn't want to be there. I decided to leave early.

I seized the day by going on a solo fishing trip. The boys were still in school after all. It was very relaxing.

Don't get me wrong, I love fishing with my kids but every now and then I just need to pack light and go catch some fish by myself.

Well, the warmwater fish were finally biting. They were all small but they were biting. 0504181600a.jpg
Caught this little guy on a bead-head prince nymph.

0504181647.jpg
This one came on a big conehead streamer. I forget the name of the fly but I have caught some nice bass on it so I thought maybe it was a bass at first. This is a green sunfish.

0504181649_HDR.jpg
And a little bluegill.

Then, I figured it was a good day to cross the road and climb down the steep rocky bank to fish the stream below the dam. Not something I do with my 6 year old. It's not a real kid-friendly spot.

0504181703b.jpg
This little Northern Pikeminnow was the first to my hand out of the stream. This is one of the smallest I have ever caught.

0504181706.jpg
Another bluegill. Look at that purple behind his ear.

0504181708a.jpg
As you can see this fish got the hook through the eye. I think he's had better days.

So, that was my afternoon off. It was a good way to enjoy the great weather and some stress free fishing. I especially enjoy flyfishing for these warmwater fish.

The next day was even better. I will write about it in my next post.

Meanwhile, tight lines!

Sort:  

Great post! That bead-head prince nymph will get them every time!

Thanks! It's a real killer!

I'm guessing that you probably released all of these. All pretty small. Nice pictures of all of them. That one with the hook in the eye, must not have been paying attention. Cool that you were able to get away by yourself. I'd probably would have tried to do that sooner. As you say, you love to go fishing with your boys, but sometimes, you've just got to descend the rocky bank to fish the stream below. :)

It's also awesome that you can say, "Hey, I'm not feeling it today. Laters!" and then go fishing. Serious mental health day there.

Yes, all were released. I don't usually leave early like that but when I do, I usually go fishing! Haha.

This kinda satisfying post.. when I read its make me feel satisfying .. happy fishing ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59