First Striped Bass of the Season! (Marone saxatilis)

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2272.JPG

As any one who has been following me knows I have been terribly busy. While the load is lightened we still cannot rest, but I'll save you the boring details of my work and get to the fun I was able to sneak myself into.

The past few weeks I was feeling the water with nothing much to show. Eyeballing the tide, losing sleep, exhausting myself by forcing trips. 3 skunked trips for me felt like an eternity. But I had my head held high, as I noticed cormorants starting to show. All I could do now is wait for when the tide is right with me and the universe/work.

Last Thursday we finished work earlier than expected. So I promptly clocked out and checked the tide, moon, and wind to decide when and where I will go, Do I need to get my butt going now? Or should I take a nap and go later?

Conditions told me to take a nap and go at midnight. I decided to go to the closest spot, which is a prolific bottleneck. I was convinced this was going to be a good day when I saw an Osprey swoop down and pull a bunker out of the water.

IMG_2255.JPG

Above is a full sized Bunker Atlantic Menhaden (Brevoortia tyrannus), number one baitfish along the east coast. At all stages of their life they are a valuable food source for most salt water predators and that includes my target, Striped Bass. The Bunker above was foul hooked on my minnow lure, there were so many I was bumping into them each time I retrieved. This was encouraging and at the same time taxing as each time it happened I had to asses if it was a strike. At the same time I knew if there were any predators chasing them, I am right where I need to be.

Patience seems to be the only tool that can help me now. It's now 1:00 am and I have noticed a Bunker jumping here then a bit later over there. A steady jump as if they were feeding freely. An hour of this and no bites I think it's safe to say that there are no Bass chasing them.

I sat down next to my fishing bag and lit a cigarette to contemplate leaving, but something, maybe the wind shifting or a certain smell I decided to stick around. I can't really put my finger on why I decided to stay but it seemed promising when suddenly a handfull of Bunker jumped all in a row. They seemed stressed, I thought, as the roars of jumping bunker started to increase.

I cast my minnow lure gave a few strong cranks to dig it deeper into the water column then I reel as slow as I can. Even if I can't feel the lure beating, I knew it was still working properly. I was reeling so slow I could feel every joint in my shoulders and knees creaking. Every millisecond in a deep anticipation, these are big Bunker I think there will be big bass.

My Lure made it up to a ripple in the current and tumbled, a split second later my lure turned into an anchor. Knowing that didn't actually happen I set the hook as hard as I can and reeled a few cranks keeping the line taught. At this point the battle begins. Despite my drag being near locked with 50 lb braid and a 50 lb fluorocarbon leader this fish started to peel line. As a relief this didn't last long I was able to get it in close.

Close just don't cut it if you know what I mean. I am standing on algae covered boulders holding my balance with a fish the size of my leg fighting for it's freedom. It is only feet away now and thrashing, I also know its a keeper. Once the fish is calm I see it is hooked just so, feeling lucky I made it this far I reached in to lip it.

Some would say it didn't count because it made it off the hook before I could get it out of the water. I say, damn right it counts because I jumped right in after it and wouldn't ya know it, I got it!

IMG_2267.JPG
IMG_2258.JPG
IMG_2263.JPG

Soaking wet I with a 30 inch fish on my new stringer I felt satisfied. I felt no need to keep fishing as the limit is one per person and I am simply tired. One is enough anyhow, my fridge will be filled for a whole week. Now Almost 2:00 am Friday morning, I pack up my fish to get my butt home, I have work soon.

ssbgif.gif
On the stringer bleeding while I get ready to clean.

Thank you for reading!
For more please:
Upvote &
Subscribe

Check out my DIY fish stringer
https://steemit.com/diy/@nickbuha/diy-fish-stringer-repurposing-old-dog-leashes

For more Hunting and fishing content please check out @myhuntingfishing and use the hashtag #myhuntingfishing for similar content

Sort:  

que buena captura, mi mayor emocion al pescar fue capturar un sabalo de 3kg y fue genial

Great story, brother! There is nothing like catching a great fish after a few skunked trips! The writing was on point as well, it kept me anticipating the final catch.

Thank you! I wanted the reader to feel the same way I did.

Congrats! That was a great story and a great fish! So happy for you!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You got a 21.88% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @nickbuha!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Miss ya man! Hope all is well with you.

Congratulations @nickbuha! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nickbuha! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73